Free historical fiction Kindle books for 31 Jan 13

Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr

by N. Gemini Sasson

The story of Owain Glyndwr, the last Welsh Prince of Wales.

In the year 1399, Welsh nobleman Owain Glyndwr is living out a peaceful gentleman’s life in the Dee Valley of Wales with his wife Margaret and their eleven children. But when Henry of Bolingbroke usurps the throne of England from his cousin Richard II, that tranquility is forever shattered. What starts as a feud with a neighboring English lord over a strip of land evolves into something greater–a fight for the very independence of Wales.

After a harrowing encounter on the misty slopes of Cadair Idris, the English knight Harry Hotspur offers Owain a pact he cannot resist.

Peace, however, comes with a heavy price. As tragedies mount and temptations loom, Owain questions whether he can fulfill the prophecies and lead his people to freedom without destroying those around him.

For centuries, the bards have sung of King Arthur’s return, but is this reluctant warrior prince the answer to those prophecies?
Other books by N. Gemini Sasson:
The Crown in the Heather (The Bruce Trilogy: Book I)
Worth Dying For (The Bruce Trilogy: Book II)
The Honor Due a King (The Bruce Trilogy: Book III)
Isabeau, A Novel of Queen Isabella and Sir Roger Mortimer
The King Must Die, Murder and revenge in the time of Edward III

The Figurine (Into the Light of Day)

by Rona Simmons

The Figurine is one of ten short stories included in a collection titled “Into the Light of Day”, each story highlighting small details–single moments that sparkled brightly through the fog of the many years since they took place.
In the summer and fall of 2012, the author interviewed several individuals, some life-long friends, some distant relatives, and some complete strangers all of whom were gracious enough to contribute their memories and moments. After poring over existing story drafts, copies of emails or message board posts, and photos from the contributors, the author created dialogue and added narrative to bring the stories to life. To some, she added characters, scenes, or situations for dramatic purposes, but she always remained true to the original. Though a few of the stories are set during the war years, they are not war stories, but rather stories of giving to and caring for others, of learning life’s hard lessons, and of growing up in turbulent and troubled times.

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.