Free history Kindle books for 17 Dec 13

Vengeance; at Midway and Guadalcanal, a novel of war. (Aviator)

by Leland Shanle

VENGEANCE IS SECOND IN A TRILOGY SET IN WWII. THE FIRST, PROJECT 7 ALPHA WAS WINNER OF THE HISTORICAL FICTION AWARD 2012 (Gold Medal Award); by the Military Writers Society of America (MWSA):  Action explodes from the pages of Novelist LC Shanle’s latest. World War II experienced from the cockpits of fighter aircraft, and through the eyes of men trapped in island Tropical Hells. Written by a retired Naval Aviator and former Paratrooper; the author puts the reader in the F-4F Wildcat and jungle, as warriors engage in a titanic struggle around the globe.
A diverse and rich cast of characters reveal the sacrifice and frustrations of war. A no holds bar accounting of the actual battles, shown through the eyes of the novels characters, uncovers mistakes and even incompetence at the highest levels. Vengeance shows the disastrous results of these decisions, on the lowest common denominator; the war fighter. Closely following the actual battles of Midway and Guadalcanal the reader gets an insider’s view so vivid the smell of cordite will hang in the air.
A rare perspective written by an author that flew modern fighters over the historic battlefields, even from the decks of aircraft carriers that fought in the Pacific. A riveting story, Vengeance tells of the impact at an individual level, a personal level; of an entire world at war. From the struggles of a young man in Officer Candidate School facing down a sadistic Drill Instructor; to entire fleets engaging in War At Sea.
Vengeance will pull back the curtain of historical perspective and frame it in reality. The harsh reality will come as a shock to readers who have read of great victories. But know little of the tremendous cost; like fifteen hundred sailors lost in a single nights battle, all five of the Sullivan brothers among them.
To the soldier, sailor or airman: war is about the small unit they are a part of and the struggle not only to stay alive, but protect their comrades. Sometimes, even to avenge their deaths.
Shanle’s latest novel; End Game in the Pacific, will be released in the new year.



Sword of Empire: Praetorian

by Richard Foreman

171AD.

Rome is at war with the northern tribes – and is yet to win a significant battle.

The Germanic armies have crossed the Danube and have attacked the Empire, slaughtering thousands.

The Emperor, Marcus Aurelius, is losing the support of the people and the Senate.

Yet he has formed a plan he believes will change the balance of power in the region.

Aurelius has despatched an officer in the Praetorian Guard, the centurion Gaius Maximus, to escort the son and daughter of a powerful German tribal chief back to their village through enemy territory – in hope of arranging an alliance with Rome.

But Maximus, to complete his mission, must contest with enemies at home, as well as abroad.

One man will change the fate of an Empire, or die trying.

From the backstreets of Rome, to the forests of Germany, and onto the Battle of Pannonia, Sword of Empire: Praetorian is the first book in a new series from the bestselling author of the novel Augustus: Son of Rome – and the Sword of Rome collection of novellas about the campaigns of Julius Caesar.

For fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden.

Richard Foreman’s books have been widely praised.

Praise for ‘Augustus: Son of Rome’.

‘Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom – and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction’. – Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series.

Praise for Raffles: The Complete Innings.

“Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime.” – David Blackburn, The Spectator.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling books, including ‘Augustus: Son of Rome’ and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of ‘Warsaw’, a literary novel set during the Second World War. He lives in London.

Endeavour Press is the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books.



The Point of Death (An Elizabethan Murder Mystery)

by Peter Tonkin

London, 1594.

The opening night of â??Romeo and Juliet’.

But it is not just the young lovers in the play who are star-crossed.

Mercutio is found murdered in the middle of the play – but it is real, not stage, blood that flows from his body.

Tom Musgrove, is hired by the theatre owners to solve the murder case as quickly and quietly as possible.

The theatre has only just reopened after two years of plagues, and they can’t afford a scandal on their doorstep.

As Tom plunges into the mean streets of Elizabethan London he soon realises he has jumped blindly into a web of murderous intrigue, which has already claimed the lives of Kit Marlowe and Francis Walsingham.

As the shattered remnants of England’s first Secret Service split into two lethally opposed camps, the blood begins to flow from the stinking sewers of Southwark to the gilded halls of Westminster.

Can Musgrove track down the murderer and solve the mystery?

Or will he end up being the one hunted to The Point of Death?

â??The Point of Death’ is a thrilling Elizabethan murder mystery, full of intrigue and suspense.

Praise for Peter Tonkin:

“A welcome aura of old-fashioned expertise” – Publishers Weekly

“A good thriller, recommended” – Library Journal

â??Tonkin is a superb storyteller who creates big, brash, swashbuckling adventures with taut suspense, fast-paced action and tough, resourceful characters.’ Booklist

Peter Tonkin was born in Northern Ireland, and was raised in the UK, Holland, Germany, and the Persian Gulf. He has written thirty novels including â??The Coffin Ship’.

Endeavour Press is the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books.



Storm of Love – A Historical Romance Set during the American Revolutionary War

by Nathaniel Burns

Massachusetts, 1776

Young Abigail suffers greatly the way she is being raised by her mother, for whom a woman’s only place is in the kitchen. At the same time, her father’s dedicated fight for freedom also ignites in her a passion for the American Revolution. When news of her father’s death reaches her, she has a falling out with her mother. Soon after, Abigail goes on her way to fight for freedom and independence like her father had done.

On the way, she encounters the young English deserted Edward, who has come to the realization that he went to war for the wrong ideals and who also wants to join the revolutionary army.

Soon, the two discover their true feelings for each other and in the turmoil of the American Revolutionary War begins for them a time of uncertainty, of hope and of terror.

Is the burning torch of their love strong enough to withstand the storm?



HEROES AND GENTLEMEN ALL

by Grevin Jones

THE STORY OF THE SOLDIERS OF RHOSLLANNERCHRUGOG, PONCIAU, JOHNSTOWN AND PENYCAE IN THE GREAT WAR. EXTRACTS FROM THE RHOS HERALD 1914-19.



The Mad Game – Christmas Present 1913 (Love and War)

by Chris Cherry

A Christmas short story, to accompany The Mad Game – William’s Story. Happy Holidays



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.