Free history Kindle books for 30 Dec 13

Princess of Egypt – A Mystery in Ancient Egypt

by Nathaniel Burns

Ancient Egypt, 1233 BC

Neti-Kerty’s reputation as Egypt’s first female mummifier has apparently reached all the way to the Pharaoh. Neti-Kerty and Shabaka, Special Investigator and Prefect of Thebes, are astonished to be summoned to the palace of Ramses II to investigate the sudden death of the Vizier Khay. Thanks to her powers of deduction and knowledge of the dead, Neti soon determines that something is amiss.

As more people disappear during the investigation, the situation increasingly gets out of hands and before long Neti and Shabaka find themselves peering into the deepest recesses of the human soul….

Princess of Egypt returns us to a land steeped in gods, god-kings, ritual and magic. It paints for the reader a detailed picture of Pharaonic Egypt in all its shadowed glory. Faithfully recreating one of the most remarkable eras in Egypt’s history, author Nathaniel Burns weaves a shudderingly ominous tale of ancient Egypt’s mysteries revealed through a cast of characters the modern reader will recognize even though millenia have passed.

So light up the incense, sit close to the light and draw back the curtains on the shadowed past with this gripping tale of love and intrigue among the living and the dead in one of history’s most intriguing civilizations.

Princess of Egypt is the second book in the series The Cases of Neti-Kerty.

What Customers Say About This Series

“CSI: Ancient Egypt! Neti was a strong character that I quickly came to care about.” – Wendy Scott, Fantasy Author of The Windflowers Trilogy Golden Scarab

“The characters wonderfully woven, I could see what they saw, feel what they felt. It was a nonstop read! I loved it!” – Marigoldsnzinnias

“A fun historical mystery with a twist.” – Woodsusa

“Compelling and gentle, a mystery and a romance in one.” – Ladycaviar, Washington, DC

“I enjoyed this book immensely. Snappy, action filled plot.” – Edna Lucretia Williams

“Burns uses a thrilling hunt for a murderer to skillfully reveal the secret practices of ancient Egypt’s embalmers and other of its mysteries.” – Patricia De Hemricourt

“This Book will take you on a journey like none you’ve ever experienced before.” – Jay V.

“I have only one thing to say: Excellent!” – Rachel “savvygirl”

Also available on Amazon:

The Mummifier´s Daughter – A novel set in Ancient Egypt is the first book in the series The Cases of Neti-Kerty.



Ship of Force

by Alan Evans

The summer of 1917.

Britain is losing the war against the deadly German U-boats.

After a close fought action, Commander David Smith uncovers what he believes is a deadly plot against Britain from a dying German sailor. Code-named SchwerttrZiger – or Swordbearer – it could turn the tide of the war in Germany’s favour.

But nobody will listen to him.

He is under suspicion, and ignored.

With just one one ancient destroyer, a turtle-back ‘thirty-knotter’ known as ‘Bloody Mary’, under his command, he must wage this battle on his own.

Smith has to take on shore batteries and bigger, faster enemy destroyers. He has to fight the hostility of his commanding officer and is plunged into a world of espionage behind enemy lines. Through it all the mystery behind `Schwerttriiger’ lures him on – until he stakes his career and his life in a desperate attempt to solve it.

‘Ship of Force’ is an edge-of-the-seat WWI naval adventure that combines thrilling story-telling with meticulous research.

‘I think a 21 gun salute is required… Alan Evans has produced a cracking thriller’ The Daily Mirror

‘Evans provides a different sea story, sustained suspense and vivid battle scenes’ – Publishers Weekly

Alan Evans was a thriller writer known for vividly recreating the atmosphere of the First World War. His other titles include â??Ship of Force’, â??Sword at Sunrise’ and â??Orphans of the Storm’.

Endeavour Press is the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books.



The Secessionist

by John H Frye

Point Pleasant. Virginia. 1859

A slave revolt is spreading across across the land.

Amid fears of terrible bloodshed, the gentleman farmer Mr Underwood is promoted to the position of Supervisor.

After a tense confrontation, the town is kept safe.

But on the ride home, an escaped slave lands Mr Underwood in a whole lot of trouble.

And suddenly he is embroiled in a bitter and bloody feud between the North and South, the Confederates and the Unionists.

As the two sides battle over Virginia, Mr Underwood is caught up in a dangerous struggle for control of the State.

And when he meets a beautiful widow, it is not just the State that is divided – it is Underwood’s heart that is at stake as well as must choose between the beguiling Ariadne and his shrewish wife.

The Secessionist is a fast-paced, brilliantly researched historical novel that is sure to have you on edge of your seat from the first to the last page.

It is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Charles Frazier.

“A wonderful book combining detailed research and fast-moving story-telling.” – Tom Kasey, best-selling author of Trade Off.

Endeavour Press is the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books.



Shuyani

by Leslie Davis

After traveling in the remote Amazonian jungles of Peru from 1924-1928, Leslie Davis returned to the United States to tell the tale of Shuyani. A young woman held captive on an isolated plateau, Shuyani seeks help in her escape when a white-skinned stranger drops from the sky.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.