Free science fiction Kindle books for 20 Aug 14

Waiting in the Shadows

by Trish Moran

Perfect for fans of ‘Divergent’ and ‘The Giver’

Amidst the excitement of the advances in stem cell research, little thought has been given to the human spare parts created at the world-famous â??Centre’. But what happens when those â??spare parts’ are revealed to be a lot more than that – to be living, breathing replicas of human beings?

An orphaned teenage girl, Stella, abandoned by the family she has left, flees a life to be spent in the care of social services and takes to the wilderness, where reports of strange, wild people, the â??Ferals’, are commonplace. The Ferals are said to be dangerous, violent freaks, outcasts from society. But Stella encounters one of them while out shopping one day and he doesn’t seem so very different from her â?¦

Stella soon finds out that the Ferals are not simply the sinister criminals portrayed in the media. They are the product of the Centre’s research, a secret race of replica human beings kept solely for their body parts – until some of them managed to escape.

Together, Stella and the â??Labs’, as they call themselves, fight for freedom, acceptance and a place in society – a society that, often, would rather not know what is going on â?¦



AlterWorld (Play to Live: Book #1)

by D. Rus

A new pandemic – the perma effect – has taken over Earth of the near future. Whenever you play your favorite online game, beware: your mind might merge with the virtual world and dump its comatose host. Woe be to those stuck forever in Tetris! And still they’re the lucky ones compared to those burning alive eternally within the scorched hulls of tank simulators.

But some unfortunates – the handicapped and the terminally ill, shell-shocked army vets, wronged crime victims and other society misfits – choose to flee real life willingly, escaping to the limitless world of online sword and sorcery MMORPGs.

Once a seasoned gamer and now a terminal cancer patient, Max grasps at this final chance to preserve his life and identity. So he goes for it – goes for the promise of immortality shared with a few trusty friends and the woman he loves. Together they roam the roads of AlterWorld and sample its agony and ecstasy born of absolute freedom.



Solutions: The Dilemma of Patience

by James Gerard

Solutions: The Dilemma of Patience is the last in the series of seven stories which explore one’s relationship with self, others, and ultimately our Lord God. Michael and his two friends are up to no good. Taking a number of necessary items for the host of believers held up in a secret location, they run into the most feared woman in the fiefdom of Los Angeles–Councilman Torres’ personal enforcer. Having fallen into the trap with no way out, something remarkable happens. For what Michael and his friends believe will be instant death becomes a choice for life.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.