Free history Kindle books for 30 Aug 14

The Greatest Battles in History: The Guadalcanal Campaign

by Charles River Editors

*Includes pictures

*Includes accounts of the fighting

*Includes a bibliography for further reading

*Includes a table of contents

“You ran a fever of 106 degrees. And you still had to try to stay, and stay with your position. You had dengue fever, which is even worse than malaria. Men that were scratched with coral became infected with a rundown condition. It was a war of attrition, mostly, for the Marines.” – Major Vincent Kramer, 5th Defense Battalion, US Marines

The names of history’s most famous battles still ring in our ears today, with their influence immediately understood by all. Marathon lent its name to the world’s most famous race, but it also preserved Western civilization during the First Persian War. Saratoga, won by one of the colonists’ most renowned war heroes before he became his nation’s most vile traitor. Hastings ensured the Normans’ success in England and changed the course of British history. Waterloo, which marked the reshaping of the European continent and Napoleon’s doom, has now become part of the English lexicon. In Charles River Editors’ Greatest Battles in History series, readers can get caught up to speed on history’s greatest battles in the time it takes to finish a commute, while learning interesting facts long forgotten or never known.

The Guadalcanal Campaign, which ran from August 1942 to February 1943, was a bitter and protracted struggle that also happened to be a strange and transitional confrontation quite unlike any other in the long Pacific War. In conjunction with the American victory at the Battle of Midway, Guadalcanal represented the crucial moment when the balance of power in the Pacific tipped in favor of the Allies, but the idea that Guadalcanal would be such a significant battle would have come as a surprise to military strategists and planners on both sides.

Nonetheless, by the time the Guadalcanal campaign was underway, it was a confrontation that neither side actively sought, but that both sides came to believe they could not afford to lose. When Allied forces landed on the island, it was an effort to deny the Japanese the use of the island and other nearby islands, but the Japanese defenders fought bitterly in an effort to push them off the island, resulting in a rather unique battle that consisted mostly of a Japanese offensive against Americans that invaded amphibiously and dug in. While the Americans closed the campaign with a substantial material advantage, the American garrison on Guadalcanal was initially undermanned and terribly undersupplied.

Eventually, nearly 100,000 soldiers fought on the island, and the ferocity with which the Japanese fought was a fitting prelude to campaigns like Iwo Jima and Okinawa. The campaign would include six separate naval battles, three large-scale land clashes, and almost daily skirmishing and shelling. Not surprisingly, the campaign exacted a heavy toll, with more than 60 ships sunk, more than 1200 aircraft destroyed, and more than 38,000 dead. While the Japanese and Americans engaged at sea and in the skies, of the 36,000 Japanese defenders on the ground, over 30,000 of them would be dead by the end of the Guadalcanal campaign, while the Americans lost about 7,000 killed.

By the end of the fighting, the Guadalcanal Campaign had unquestionably become a turning point in the Pacific War, representing both the last gasp of the Japanese offensive and the first stirrings of the American onslaught. In the wake of the Japanese defeat, Major General Kiyotake Kawaguchi asserted, “Guadalcanal is no longer merely a name of an island in Japanese military history. It is the name of the graveyard of the Japanese army.”

The Greatest Battles in History: The Guadalcanal Campaign comprehensively covers the entire military situation that led up to the campaign, analyzes the decisions made by the battle’s most important leaders, and explains the aftermath of the American victory.



Studying Scarlet: A New Sherlock Holmes Mystery (a parody) (New Sherlock Holmes Mysteries Book 1)

by Craig Stephen Copland

Starlet O’Halloran has come to London looking for her wayward husband, Brett Steward. She seeks help from Sherlock Holmes. He refuse the case until he learns that three men have already been murdered who were connected to Starlet and Brett.

Then this unlikely crew of Southerners and Londoners, and a couple of unexpected new characters, must work together to save the King and the Empire.

Fans of both Sherlock Holmes and Gone with the Wind will enjoy this parody. It is the first in a series of New Sherlock Holmes Mysteries by Craig Stephen Copland.



Legends and Myths From Wales – South-eastern Wales

by Graham Watkins

In this book you will find a selection of sixteen well known legends, each of which relates to a particular place in South-eastern Wales.

Wales is a land rich in folklore and legend. The beauty and mystery of the land enchants us with tales from the past. Meet Sir Gawain as he returns to Camelot and tips his uncle, King Arthur into the Afon Wysg before discovering his true identity. Discover the tragic love story of the Maid of Sker and her selfish father. Learn about the Blue Knight of Gwent who married Gwladus the Dark and built a great castle at Raglan. Explore the legend of reluctant King Tewdrig who tried to save his kingdom. Read the story of William de Braose, the Ogre of Abergavenny. Learn the fate of the Pirate Dolphyn when Sir Harry took his revenge, how Jack o’ Kent tricked the Devil and how Daffyd Gam got his name. These are just a few of the legends reproduced within these pages.



War of the Pews: A Personal Account of St. Augustine Church in New Orleans

by Jerome LeDoux

St. Augustine Catholic Church has stood since 1841 in the Trem̩ section of New Orleans as a community of hope and spiritual renewealРand along the way became a national treasure.
Organized by French whites and free people ofcolor, its racialmake up has varied through the years,reflecting the city around it. The Civil War, segregation, civil rights unrest and Hurricane katrina have all tested the churh’s existence.
But the closing of St. Augstine ordered in early 2006 by the archdiocese was its most formidable challenge ever. Inspired by their beloved pastor, Rev. Jerome LeDoux, the congregation sprand into action. Calling on supportfrominternationalandlocal people ofnote, they refused to shutter the church doors and brought about an unprecedentedmediation with the archbishop.
Today St. Augustine stands triumphant asa cultural, social and religious hub in Tremé. From theacclaimed film Shake the Devil Offto jazz masses in Ascona, Switzerland, its fame is worldwide.
” ‘All churches should be like St.Augstine,’ noted Pope John Paul II during his September 1987 visit to New Orleans. War of the Pews by Rev.LeDoux is an absolute must-read for anyone interested in the hsitory of New Orleans and American religious history in general….His gripping description of events offers a unique window into the rich cultural complexity of the city with rare historical depth.” Ina Johana Fandrich, PhD, author and historical researcher



EE Canberra – A History

by peter dancey

Equipping the RAF’s front-line bomber force for many years the PR variants were also deployed on high altitude surveillance during the ‘Cold War’. This is a comprehensive history of this unique airplane and its Martin RB-57 USAF cousin that served the USAF well in Vietnam. Many lesser known variants are also detailed including the British RAE experimental airplanes.



Dave’s Walking Guide to Tewkesbury (Dave’s Guides Book 1)

by Dave Evans

This walking guide will help you discover the delights of Tewkesbury. The whole walk takes around two and a half hours but the chapters are arranged so that you can stop and start at the points of most interest to you or even break the walk into a series of shorter walks. It is all on pavement and there are just two points where you need to cross a main road.



The Hamas Independnce War: How Israel Become Hostage Of Hamas – Gaza War 2014

by Nir Segev

How did Hamas cause the collapse of Israel’s deterrence strategy? What lead to war in Gaza in 2014?

This text contains revolutionary and innovative information revealing how Hamas has managed to take advantage of the military and civilian capabilities to lift the siege.

It will give in-depth answers to complex questions, such as:

Why won’t Israel enter Gaza?

What strategies has Israel taken to influence Hamas to end the war in Gaza, and why have these strategies failed?

Why didn’t the Iron Dome change the rules of the game?

Nir Segev, an MA from the University of Haifa and expert in Israeli-Palestinian conflict, presents an alternative perspective on the war in Gaza and argues that each situation will leave Hamas with the upper hand in the realization of the main goal: establishing a strong country, both economically and militarily.



Gas Man II

by Eric Nelson

Tyler Goodwin was on a roll back in the summer of 1978. He recently had been named the Employee of the Year at Northern Plains Gas. The first time in that company’s long history that a meter reader had received that high honor. Then came the prestigious Golden Flame award from the International Gas workers Union.

He had a good looking gal he was planning on marrying and his future looked unlimited. But then… Well. then it got ugly.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.