Free religious fiction Kindle books for 30 Sep 14

Livin’ in High Cotton: A Historical Romantic Novel

by Jennifer Youngblood

Livin’ in High Cotton (A Historical Romantic Novel)

Fans of LDS & Christian fiction will love this inspirational, clean romance that takes place in the South.

Cultured, graceful, feisty Shelby Collins is the epitome of a southern lady. She tries to prove her competence by looking after her siblings while her mother is away caring for an ailing relative. Shelby’s secure world is turned upside down when her father, in a drunken rage, tries to rape her. Fearing others will learn of his treachery, he kidnaps her, takes her to a reform school, and abandons her. In utter despair, Shelby is sure that her life is overâ??but sometimes blessings come in the most unexpected ways.

When a chance meeting brings her face to face with the ruggedly handsome, Harlan Rhodes, Shelby is unprepared for the feelings that stir within her. Hearts collide, quickly budding into a lasting love that will span time and space. Through a series of unfortunate events, Shelby and Harlan are separated, forcing them to lead separate lives of loneliness and frustration.

Years later, when their lives converge, old feelings rekindle, and they must decide if they will risk all to finally be together.

Inspired by a true story, this poignant novel is set against the rich tapestry of the South during the late 1920’s and early 1930’s. It’s a story of love, betrayal, and the indomitable human spirit in the face of adversity. It’s about a young girl, growing up, who realizes that life is full of second chances, and that it’s never too late to learn how to live.

“A compelling story of family loyalty, love, loss, and strength, as warm and fertile as the rich red clay of a Georgia field. The inspiring, hardscrabble lives of Depression-era southerners make for a vivid story of love and forgiveness.”

–Deborah Smith, New York Times bestselling author of A Place to Call Home

“Strongly recommended and superbly crafted reading.”

–Midwest Book Review

“With a combination of heartbreak, romance, and triumph, Livin’ in High Cotton is a page-turning pleasure.”

–LDS Living Magazine

“You’ve got to read this book. I loved it. You won’t be able to put it down. It evoked so many emotions, and it was easy reading. I felt like I was actually there. It’s one of those books you want to pick up and read a second time.”

–Rilly Winkle, Alabama TV and radio personality



The End

by Nick Harlow

TV reporter Rachel Singer knows what happens to people after they die.

That’s because Judgment Day has arrived, and a messenger from heaven has given her the exclusive.

Except the people of earth will be judged not by God but each other. The good will judge the bad.

The ultimate payback.

It’s a perfect storm for the world of television news, a story that grabs the entire planet by the throat and won’t let go. Doesn’t hurt that the upcoming Presidential election falls during the judgment period.

But when a handful of Hollywood liberals survive the judgments and a few popular televangelists are sent off to non-existence, some see a political agenda and wonder why a true messenger from God would choose a Jewish reporter to be his conduit. They claim the messenger is a false prophet, or even Satan himself.

Faith becomes the top issue in the election, with each candidate trying to spin the judgment process for his own personal gain. The news coverage deteriorates into a campaign of religious beliefs, with networks taking sides, while Rachel becomes the lightning rod. The final battle of good versus evil is fought via satellite.

How will Rachel’s integrity and faith stand up under the attacks? And what will happen to society after the messenger thins the herd by a few billion people?

That’s the premise of “The End”… a look at blind faith, hypocrisy, the politics of religion, and how television news can easily tailor the facts to affect what we believe.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.