Free historical fiction Kindle books for 11 Dec 15

The Winter War (Historical Fiction Action Adventure Book, set in Dark Age post Roman Britain) (The Dominic Chronicles Book 4)

by F J Atkinson

Rome’s protection had been withdrawn.

Britain’s underbelly was exposed.

Book 4 of the acclaimed Dominic chronicles.

The battle of Badon Hill has brought a transient peace to southern Britannia, but the land above Hadrian’s wall is simmering with unrest. Picts, Britons and recent Angle settlers have formed an uneasy alliance, but the treaty is fractured when the Hibernian king, Eochaid Mugmedón, sails to Britannia intent on vengeance. Destiny takes Dominic, Augustus, Tomas and Flint to the land between the walls and straight into the bitter grip of the fighting.

The Winter War: A tale of intrigue, fraternal strife and Dark Age conflict.

Hope and Promises

by Carol Lormor

Aileen Murphy knew that her life was out of control, but she had to handle each obstacle as it came her way. Before her mother died, she made a promise to help raise her younger siblings. It was not an easy task. Her older brother, Brady, tried to help, and so did her wonderful grandmother, Clara.

Just when she seemed to have some normalcy for her family, Papa decided they were all moving to Iowa. He wanted to buy his own land and have his own ranch. Not wanting to hear their objections, he packed up and left a few months ahead of the family, expecting Aileen and Brady to bring their younger siblings on their own. The journey to Iowa was scary at times and filled with adventure, but Aileen and the rest of the family get the biggest shock of their lives once they arrive in Iowa.

Upon their arrival, Sheriff Rossi and his handsome son and deputy, Nicholas, bring Aileen and her family devastating news, concerning their father.

It is up to Aileen to figure out what happened to her Papa and why. Will she solve the mystery on her own or will Nick get involved? Maybe in the end, Iowa will bring hope for a new love and promises of a new beginning for Aileen.

From the Earth to the Moon and Round the Moon

by Jules Verne

Skyros Publishing is dedicated to reproducing the finest books ever written and letting readers of all ages experience a classic for the first time or revisit a past favorite.

From the Earth to the Moon and its sequel Round the Moon are classic science fiction novels written by Jules Verne. The action starts after the American Civil War with members of a Baltimore Gun Club attempting to build an enormous space gun to be used in order to launch three people to the moon.

A Fierce People: Inheritance

by Travis Wade Miller

A Fierce People: Inheritance is the first part of the historical fiction short story series based on the Native Americans of Southwest Florida known as the Calusa.

A Life of Her Own: Five Tales of Homestead Women

by Mae Schick

A tar paper shack sits on 160 acres of partially cultivated land. Beside the shack stands a solitary woman, surveying the land she has yet to till. In five years she can own this landâ?¦if she can make it productive. And if she can outlast the acts of nature, the violent intruders, and jealous homesteader wives who threaten her claim.

Inspired by the true stories of brave, single women who claimed frontier land as part of Abraham Lincoln’s Homestead Act of 1864. Follow the stories of five single women fighting for A Life of Their Own: pragmatic Mirna, scintillating Sophie, bright Nora, bewildered Lizzie, and enigmatic Mrs. Andersson. Will they be able to prove up their land? Can they thrive?

The Other Side of Life

by Andy Kutler

December 1941, Pearl Harbor. A peaceful Sunday morning turns into a devastating attack on American soil. Naval officer Malcolm “Mac” Kelsey is severely wounded while defending his ship. A flawed man abandoned long ago by his alcoholic wife, Kelsey has been mired in despair and hopelessness following the accidental death of Lucy, the young daughter he considers the only redemptive aspect of his life. Near the point of death, Kelsey is brought to what he believes to be an afterlife where he is offered an opportunity to shed his past memories and embark upon an alternate path in another place and time. Eager to escape his torment and begin a more tranquil existence, Kelsey accepts, only to feel quickly betrayed as he soon finds himself back in the midst of battle, this time as a Union soldier at the dawn of the Civil War.

Through Antietam, Gettysburg and four years of relentless fighting, Kelsey attempts to cast aside his painful past while trying to survive the horrors of combat. He crosses paths with compelling figures on both sides of the conflict determined to persevere and return to those they left behind. Idealistic Ethan Royston, promoted from the enlisted ranks, believes in preserving the Union but is plagued by insecurity and self-doubt. His closest friend, West Point-trained Cal Garrity, remains loyal to his home state of Virginia despite his misgivings about the virtue of the Southern cause. The war will divide these friends, just as it will divide Garrity from his adoring wife, Emily, the charismatic and headstrong daughter of a prominent Norfolk shipbuilder, forced to face the onset of war alone.

Each will endure unimaginable hardship and brutality that will forever reshape their core beliefs and values. Each will find their strength and resolve tested as they search for self-purpose, humanity, and reconciliation. Most of all, Mac Kelsey will discover the very essence of life and death, and whether the new beginning he has long coveted will bring him the inner peace he has so desperately sought.

The Hare’s Vision: A new Irish myth

by William A. Methven

The Hares Vision is beautifully written, vividly imagined and wise.

It is a bewitching odyssey in the 6th century of a Celtic monk, Cormac, his muse Zachariah and a strange band of companions who journey from Egypt to Ireland to protect ‘The Word’ from those who would suppress its revolutionary message.

“This is such an important book for the Irish people, ….. it could give the Irish the promise of a new start in life among each other. I am flabbergasted by this book. It remains exciting until the end (and afterwards somehow). The story is always unexpected and surprising.” Emy ten Seldam.

In 36AD radical Jewish teacher and zealot, Yeshua ben Pandira lies dying of his wounds in Judaea. Disturbed by a vision that his teachings will be misused by the Roman Empire, Yeshua lives long enough to dictate his final testament, later known as The Word, to Joseph of Arimithaea.

However because of its radical teachings, The Word is suppressed by the early church and completely disappears in the third century.

Then in 2015 The Word is re-discovered buried under the ruins of an ancient church in Ireland. How did it get there from biblical Judaea and what are the implications for the modern world of its radical message?

“This is a remarkable book. It has a smooth narrative flow and a great visual appeal and I keep thinking of it in terms of a film, possibly along the lines of Lord of the Rings, it reads like a traditional Irish myth.” Colin McAlpin.

The Red Badge of Courage

by Stephen Crane

Skyros Publishing is dedicated to reproducing the finest books ever written and letting readers of all ages experience a classic for the first time or revisit a past favorite.

The Red Badge of Courage is a classic war novel written by Stephen Crane. The book, which is set during the American Civil War, is about a Union soldier who flees from a battle and, due to his shame, desires to be wounded in order to earn a “red badge of courage.”

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.