Free fantasy Kindle books for 15 Aug 16

K: The Awakening (The Shadow Chronicles Book 1)

by K. R. Fajardo

“Fifty years ago the Shadows betrayed me, left me to wither slowly into nothing, chained deep inside a hidden mountain cave. Meanwhile they took control of my kingdom, killing or enslaving any who would dare oppose them. But I am a patient woman â?¦ and immortal. The Shadows should enjoy their reign of terror while they can, in the meantime, I will continue to stare at these dark walls plotting my revenge. After all, it is only a matter of time, and I have all the time in the world.” K.

In the small town of Vicaris, Mikel and his daughter Citera live in and run a small clinic. It’s often chaotic and overwhelming, but neither of them would have it any other way. But their desire to help those in need, regardless of race or status, has often made them a target of the harassment by the Shadows forces.

Even so, when their Full-blood friend Rigar shows up at the back door of the clinic with the emaciated body of a young woman, Mikel doesn’t hesitate to bring her inside. And when they find out only minutes later the Shadows forces, including their henchman the Enforcer, are heading their direction, Mikel bravely puts his life on the line to protect the mysterious stranger.

Unbeknownst to Mikel, this young woman is the immortal queen the Shadows have been searching for decades to find. And it doesn’t take long before Mikel and his friends find themselves thrust into the midst of an ancient feud that will eventually decide the fate of Vanteria once and for all.

Edited by There for you Editing
Cover Art by Once Upon a Time Covers

Aphrodite’s Secret (The Forgotten Book 1)

by Samantha Ketteman

Kaira has struggled to survive, both through tragedy and the dark world in which she works, but she could never have expected the changes that were around the corner. She could never have imagined the hidden world that was her birthright, but she was about to be thrust into a battle for her very soul.

Nothing Is Strange

by Mike Russell

20 mind-expanding short stories.
Inspiring, liberating, otherworldly, magical, surreal, bizarre, funny, disturbing, unique… all of these words have been used to describe the stories of Mike Russell so put on your top hat, open your third eye and enjoy: Nothing Is Strange

Europe Has Fallen

by Andrew Gouriet

In 1879 Europe will change forever. Something is rising in the east and it will consume everything in its path. Captain Charles Hayward could be our last hope.

A small fort in the Carpathian Mountains comes under a savage attack from a super-pack of wolves. It ends as quickly as it began, leaving many unanswered questions. The inhabitants of the fort use this window to escape, but find farms abandoned, villages empty and a strange silence. This changes at the Uzhok pass where they encounter something very different. Captain Hayward will now play his part in the cat and mouse retreat and where Europe will fight for her very survival.

He must help lead this band of civilians and Royal Engineers on an epic journey through a disintegrating Europe. Where every dark forest looks on menacingly, every sound treated with caution. They must follow the path home, but with something close to his heart nearby, choices will have to be made.

This is part 1 of a Trilogy

Whisper (The Empaths Book 1)

by Phoebe Kitanidis

Fifteen-year-old Joy is used to hearing Whispersâ??to walking down the street and instantly knowing people’s deepest desires. She uses her psychic gift for good, to make her friends happy and give people what they want. But for her older sister, Jessica, the family superpower is a curse, and she uses it to make people’s livesâ??especially Joy’sâ??miserable. Still, when Joy hears a mysterious and frightening Whisper from Jessica’s mind, she knows she has to help her sister. Even if it means risking everything and joining forces with a boy she barely knowsâ??a boy who may have a dark secret of his own.

TV Apocalypse

by Kathleen Rovner

Even the suburbs aren’t safe from the end of the worldâ?¦

Daisy Danner is your typical busy stay-at-home mom. On most days she tries to keep her head down and finish her never-ending work. Today is different. Today is the apocalypse.

When an eerie attack starts to tear the neighborhood and the world apart, Daisy shuts the doors and prays that her husband Justin will return soon. Her mind begins to fray as she tries to cope with the possibility of single motherhood in a menacing new world.

With her mental and physical abilities compromised, Daisy must keep her family together as the world falls apart.

TV Apocalypse is a psychological apocalyptic thriller set in an all-too-real suburb. If you like end-of-the-world tales, humor mixed with tragedy, and incredible suspense, then you’ll love Kathleen Rovner’s chilling glance into post-apocalyptic suburbia.

Buy TV Apocalypse to take a horrifying trip to the suburbs today!

Love the Witch, Hate the Craft (The Witches of Secret Hallow Book 1)

by Nora Lee

Meet the Witches of Secret Hallow: A hidden village populated by friendly witches, their familiars, and a smattering of ghosts, ghouls, and elemental spirits.

When Rowan Middlebrook left Secret Hallow for college, she swore she would never return home. Her magic is too dangerous for her to control.

But Nana Winterblossom has asked for Rowan’s help saving The Elder Tree. If it dies, there can be no magic in Secret Hallow at all. Rowan’s family has cared for the coven for generations. She has no choice but to help, even though she’ll have to resist the urge to embrace her witchy heritage.

As soon as Rowan returns, she meets the new warlock in Secret Hallow: Caedmon McFarland, who thinks he’s going to take over the coven by marrying Rowan, despite the fact they’ve never met before. Between dodging arranged marriage and trying to save The Elder Tree, Rowan is remembering how much she loved being a witch among her coven – if only she could find a little control.

After all, you can take the witch out of the magic, but you can’t take the magic out of the witch.

Engines of Destruction (Collected Speculative Fiction Short Works of Matt Cates Book 1)

by Matt Cates

Behold! Gathered for the first time are the most epic short stories of speculative fiction ever written (by author Matt Cates)! Included in this initial masterworks collection are:
If Life is a Prison…
A Hollywood stars devises his own punishment after a hit and run…
Sin is Universal
Are ancient aliens real and living in Oklahoma?
The Beacon of the N’eurzz
The worst storm in the town’s history can’t stop the lighthouse keeper from doing his duty…but a monster can!
The Dying Consciousness of Nectar-9What happens when the first sentient robot realizes it’s about to die?
Sex, Drugs & Turkish Time Machines
The name sums it up better than I can!
The Box (previously published by in Fiction International #41)
An Afghan boy unearths a box near a military firing range, but has no clue what it’s worth!
Excerpt from Haveck: The First Transhuman (a novel)
Hector Haveck never wanted to be a lame mind-controlled superhero being exploited to locate the immortal king of Atlantis…but sometimes you gotta play the hand you’re dealt!

Sci-fi fans, it doesn’t get any better than this, so grab a Coke Zero and get ready to rev up Engines of Destruction!! And please leave a review if you enjoy the stories (but if you don’t, no review required…!)

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.