Free historical fiction Kindle books for 15 Dec 16

Before Bethlehem

by James J. Flerlage

The Pinnacle of History through the Eyes of a Boy

This spellbinding work of historical fiction offers the eyewitness account of 15-year-old James, son of Joseph bar Jacob, and the dangerous and heartrending choices his family must make in the days leading up to Joseph’s relationship with Mary, and the birth of Jesus of Nazareth.

With crisp prose, tangible description and thought-provoking insights, Before Bethlehem takes readers on a vivid journey to the dusty Galilean village of Nazareth, where Joseph is summoned by Rabbi Boethus, a Sadducean high priest, to marry an orphaned virgin in Jerusalem. By accepting the Rabbi’s request, Joseph unknowingly thrusts himself and his family into a bitter and emotionally draining life-or-death conflict.

Joseph fights to maintain his spiritual integrity while trying desperately to keep his family together and his farm alive. He and James witness abhorring violence at the hands of the Romans, and outlandish abuses of power by their own religious leaders. As his family’s faith and hopes are threatened by scandal and scorn, James struggles between the boy he is and the man he must become.

Before Bethlehem is an eye-opening account of the Nativity story told in a suspenseful, historical context that dares to ask the question: If Joseph should have turned Mary over to be stoned, why didn’t he? His profound answer is one that forever changes the life of his son, James. And it may just change yours, as well.



Man of the Century

by James Thayer

“A breezy, impeccably researched picaresque.” – Kirkus, starred review.

One glance from a stunning redhead sends Woodrow Lowe on a desperate 25-year odyssey.

It is 1879, and Woodrow Lowe is the fifteen-year-old son of a Boston saloon keeper, who is chums with the great bare knuckle prizefighter John L. Sullivan. John L. has knocked out every ring opponent he has ever faced, but his saloon pals challenge him to do something never done before: knock out a horse.

This startling challenge leads Woodrow to the sight of hair that is wildly crimson and to imperious blue eyes that enthrall him, to the beauty of Amy Balfour. Once he and the crimson beauty lock eyes, Woodrow is never the same again.

So begins Woodrow Lowe’s careening adventure, sometimes pursuing Amy Balfour, and sometimes fleeing from her. For in Amy, Woodrow has found a cruel manipulator whose self-regard and arrogance are tempered only by greed.

His journey will take him to San Juan Hill with Teddy Roosevelt, to China with the Dowager Empress, to an Arabian harem with the Khalif, and to Brazil with Amazon women warriors. If he survives Amy and his journeys, life through his eyes will be forever changed.

“A wry and entertaining tall tale that will appeal to fans of Thomas Berger’s Little Big Man and Allan Gurganus’ Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All. — Seattle Times.



A JOYFUL CHRISTMAS (THE NETTIE SERIES Book 2)

by Kay Terwilliger

John Bowser, the new school teacher, returned to West Monterey in the fall of 1937, after moving away eleven years before, and brought some stimulating ideas for the new school year. Emily thought John would be the same person he was when he left town, but she was in for a surprise. Not only had he changed his looks, he had changed his attitude about the church. Velma Everly arrived the day before school started and remained unaware that she was causing problems between John and Emily. It took an accident and some manipulating from Aunt Maude and Uncle Charley to set things straight.



Bajo el Hábito: Novela (Spanish Edition)

by Pedro Artieda Santacruz

Un monje franciscano de avanzada edad nos lleva a descubrir un lado oscuro del centro histórico de Quito a través de sus peripecias nocturnas que mezclan pasión y sufrimiento. Anda en busca de amor, convertido en una mujer sensual y sensible, su alma verdadera. Además de su propio secreto, descubre otros que aumentan su pena pero también su comprensión de las fallas humanas. Mientras tanto, se involucra en la búsqueda para encontrar una reliquia de la época colonial, perdida desde hace siglos. Pedro Artieda Santacruz, conocido autor quiteño, combina esas tramas de manera natural para llegar a una conclusión que las unifica magistral y vertiginosamente.

Las novelas Nadie lo sabe con certeza (2001), La última pared roja (2008); el ensayo La homosexualidad masculina en la narrativa ecuatoriana (Premio Manuela Saéz, 2004); y los cuentos Lo oculto de la noche (2011), constituyen los libros publicados por Pedro Artieda Santacruz (Quito, 1964). Con estudios en Psicología Clínica y una maestría en Estudios de la Cultura, mención literatura Hispanoamericana, se ha dedicado a la comunicación. Ha trabajado para los periódicos ecuatorianos El Comercio y Hoy. Sus crónicas y análisis sobre literatura, cine y género se han publicado en varias revistas como Diners, El Búho y Vistazo, entre otras. En 2010 fue invitado a participar en la Sexta Conferencia Internacional sobre Geografías Culturales y Estudios LGBT realizada en la Universidad de Pittsburgh, Estados Unidos. Bajo el hábito conjuga sus pasiones: la literatura, el psicoanálisis y la investigación periodística.



Lord Philip’s Christmas (Regency Belles &Beaux Book 2)

by Michele McGrath

Continuing the adventures of Lord Philip Sutherland!

Sequel to Lady Alice’s Dilemma

Lord Philip Sutherland is unaware that, due to his father’s death, he has inherited the Earldom of Kirkmore. When he rescued his first love, Celia Staunton, from her abusive husband, he fled with her to France where he has been forced to earn a precarious living as a fencing master. Philip’s youngest sister, Lady Alice, with her husband, Edward, and her companion, Grace Talbot, travel to Paris to find Philip and, if possible, to bring him home. All three are caught up in the turmoil which follows the Emperor Napoleon’s return from Elba. Accused of espionage, Philip escapes into Belgium where troops are gathering and where the battle of Waterloo is about to begin.

Ë?Ë?Ë?Narrow escapes, duels, romance, a court presentation, the Duchess of Richmond’s Ball, chaos in Brussels and Christmas at Kirkmore.

Action and Adventure in a Regency World.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.