Free literary fiction Kindle books for 31 Mar 17

Songs of Blood and Gold

by H Team

The H-Team presents…

Twelve bestselling historical authors bring to life to the glory of the ancient world in three novels spanning golden Greece to blood-soaked Rome: SONGS OF BLOOD AND GOLD

A DAY OF FIRE
(Authored by: Stephanie Dray, Ben Kane, E. Knight, Sophie Perinot, Kate Quinn, Vicky Alvear Shecter)
Pompeii: a lively resort flourishing in the shadow of Mount Vesuvius at the height of Rome’s glory. When Vesuvius erupts in an explosion of flame and ash, the entire town struggles to flee the mountain’s wrath: soldiers and politicians, villains and heroes, young and old. But who will escape, and who will be buried for eternity?

A YEAR OF RAVENS
(Authored by: Ruth Downie, Stephanie Dray, E. Knight, Kate Quinn, Vicky Alvear Shecter, SJA Turney, Russell Whitfield)
Britannia: land of mist and magic clinging to the western edge of the Roman Empire. A red-haired queen named Boudica leads her people in a desperate rebellion against the might of Rome, an epic struggle destined to consume warriors and peacemakers, slaves and queens, Roman and Celt. But who will survive to see the dawn of a new Britannia, and who will fall to feed the ravens?

A SONG OF WAR
(Authored by: Christian Cameron, Libbie Hawker, Kate Quinn, Vicky Alvear Shecter, Stephanie Thornton, SJA Turney, Russell Whitfield)
Troy: city of gold, gatekeeper of the east, a haven destined to last a thousand years. But the Fates have other planes–the Fates, and a woman named Helen. In the shadow of Troy’s gates, all must be reborn in the greatest war of the ancient world: heroes and cowards, seers and kings, innocent and guilty. But who will lie forgotten in the embers, and who will rise to shape the dawn of a new age?



Vendetta Blood

by Adam Saeed

William Carp was once a notorious gunslinger and a skilled tracker. He was goodâ??good enough to survive long enough to hang up his gun belt. Now all Carp wants is some peace in his twilight years, just him and his dog, Kip.

Carp isn’t going to get what he wants. A card game turns deadly, and before he knows it, Carp’s sentenced to die. A reprieve comes in the form of Mcnaully, an old comrade who wants two things: the death of murderer Nate Crawford and a set of valuable mining deeds. To get them, he’s willing to arrange for Carp’s freedom.

Not willing to end his days hanging from a rope, Carp sets out to track down Crawford and his two brothers. The matter is complicated by the fact Carp once rode with all three men. Still, he made a deal, and William Carp keeps his word.

Leaving a trail of violence and death behind them, the Crawford boys aren’t difficult to track. What proves troublesome is the chaos they create. As for Mcnaully, he’s growing impatient. If Carp can’t get the job done, Mcnaully has other optionsâ??options that don’t include keeping William Carp alive.



The Mules of Borgo San Marco

by W. H. Canaway

Italy. The last days of the warâ?¦

In the little mountain village of Borgo San Marco, the gallant German Major Trommel and his batman, Private Wohlhaber, continue their occupation despite being the only members of their unit left in residence.

For Trommel, desperate to be a hero and forever denied due to the malformation known as a â??pigeon chest’, the posting is a disappointment.

For Wohlhaber, occupying Borgo San Marco means he stays far, far away from any action at the frontâ?¦and he’s willing to pretend to be an imbecile if it means he can stay.

Nearby, the equally gallant English Major Widdicombe, just arrived in Italy, is en route for the Eighth Army, accompanied by three cook-reinforcements.

A slight error takes him up to Borgo San Marco â?? where both he and Trommel soon find themselves cut off from both of their armies.

On the plain below, they can see the battle rage; as the fortunes of war favour first one side and then the other, the two majors satisfy military honour by taking each other prisoner and sharing the spoils of victory â?? the chief of which is the ever-willing Countess of San Marco.

But the Countess has her own agendaâ?¦

A mule-train, bearing indispensable olive oil for her beleaguered village, has gone missing.

And without it Borgo San Marco faces ruination.

Exercising every wile available to her, she persuades the two heroes to set out through the mountains to find her mules and bring them back.

But dangers await them in the mountains, where the two majors and their men are captured and sentenced to death by Communist partisansâ?¦while the fate in store for them when the encounter a party of man-mad Amazons might just put them all out of commission.

Nevertheless, Majors Trommel and Widdicombe are determined they will not return without the mules of Borgo San Marcoâ?¦

The Mules of Borgo San Marco is a war-time tale filled with endearing characters that will keep you entertained until the very end.

Praise for W.H. Canaway

‘Genuinely Fun’ – Ken Gray, Irish Times

â??Thoroughly engaging’ – Richard Foreman

W. H. Canaway was born in 1925 in Cheshire, England, and wrote eighteen novels in thirty years, combining adventure, natural history, and a love of the outdoors. His novel Sammy Going South was made into a film in 1963.



The Spirit of the Age

by David Melville Edwards

Town meets Country. Are they ready for each other?

Married off and exiled in disgrace, young Muslim towny Skandi Khan starts a new life in rural Dorset. Her neighbours (hapless James, thrusting and charmless Roger, prickly Stephanie, and soul-eating sea-demon Sireen) are friendly, and Skandi takes to the police force as if born to it; if she can just sort out her marriage! But after a local gangmaster turns up dead events take increasingly shocking turns.

Amongst the cast of thousands there are posh people. Lots of posh people. And possibly witches. In the midst of murder, mayhem, marriages, deaths and births how can anyone win through to happy ever after?



Murder over a Pheasant Feather

by Robert Linori

A short story about a young man, who was innocently murdered by the Capo of Vásárosbéc.



After the War

by Libby Sternberg

AFTER THE WAR by Libby Sternberg

A decade after the war, its devastation still haunts them…

In the summer of 1955, a young nun awakens in Johns Hopkins Hospital after suffering an overdose, unable to remember the events that brought her there. As she recovers, she becomes the center of quiet struggles among those who surround her: her brother, a former GI still stung by betrayal during his years of service; her sister-in-law, a beautiful woman seeking love at any price; her confessor, a Jesuit priest who lost everything during the bombing of London; her nurse, a war widow whose sunny optimism leads to repeated disappointment; and her doctor, a psychiatrist beset by survival guilt and doubts about his profession’s ability to heal. Suffering from unseen war wounds ten years after the fighting ended, they each find their way to a very personal peace.

Fans of Pam Jenoff’s World War II books or Alyson Richman’s THE LOST WIFE should enjoy AFTER THE WAR for its rich detail and emotional impact.

“…a touching novel of faith and family…an evocative story of love lost, and found, told with beautiful language and emotional clarity. A novel to savor.” Christy English, author of The Queen’s Pawn

____

Libby Sternberg is the author of several historical novels; she was nominated for an Edgar for her first book, a teen mystery. Her retelling of the Jane-Eyre story, SLOANE HALL, set in old Hollywood, has been praised as “An original story with complex character development…(Sternberg) knows how to tell a story and she does it well….a refreshing tale.” Carolyne Van Der Meer, Bronte Studies journal



The Great Trial of God: Part 1

by Jason Gish

What happens when a man loses everything he loves? When humanity loses itself?

Little does Andrew Cotts know that when he embarks on a fifth-anniversary cruise with his wife, Dalaine, that he is about to face the greatest challenges of his life. Cotts will find himself on an unwanted adventure as, one-by-one, everything he cherishes is removed from his life.

Humanity itself suffers as the Great One and the Accuser each hold Cotts as their primary evidence in a trial that tests the validity of the Great One’s word. If Cotts stays devoted to his God, the Great One’s word is proven true. If Cotts turns from the creator, the Accuser will win the trial. As Cotts is brought to his utter end, he must make a choice, stay devoted to the Great One despite immense suffering or turn away from him because of it.

In a powerful retelling of the story of Job, The Great Trial of God is a life-changing story of a man’s true devotion in love, loss, triumph, and redemption and God’s promise to never leave or forsake those who call him Lord.



Living in Water

by Alex Z. Moores

Since graduating from college and becoming a teacher, Stacey Shepherd’s life hasn’t been as glamorous and exciting as he imagined. Eager to escape his anguishes in love and the doldrums of everyday living, he accepts a teaching assignment in Germany.

Before beginning to teach, Stacey persuades his brother and two friends to join him on an adventure through Europe. But fortuitous events influenced by the mystical power of water and opportunities for love detour their trip, sending them on an unexpected journey that deeply affects them all.

Weaving love, friendship, and adventure across two continents, Alex Z. Moores’s Living in Water is a spiritual gem of literary fiction similar in genre to Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love or Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.