Free literary fiction Kindle books for 30 May 17

The Situations: Short Stories (Volume: 1)

by Rash Salim

A collection of British, literary short stories.

A struggling middle-aged man discovers his lucrative new job comes at a price – one he must decide is worth paying or not.

Travelling alone on a train, a woman’s harassment leads to a fatal reaction.

The revelation of long kept secrets forces a group of lifelong school friends to question the future of their friendship.

Young men discover unexpected outcomes of dreaded trips, and elsewhere, how looking for love in the wrong places can backfire.

The Situations – Volume 1 is a collection of tales about people pushed into situations that force them to make decisions, and face the consequences.

For fans of T.C. Boyle, Junot Diaz, Martin Amis, Charlie Brooker, Hanif Kureishi, Nikesh Shukla, Chuck Palahnuik, Sam Lipsyte, and Richard Lange.

(Author’s note: This is a 20,000 word collection, with strong language)



These Precious Hours

by Michael Corrigan

“These Precious Hours” is a collection of related and interconnected stories concerning loss and recovery. The structure is not unlike Sherwood Anderson’s “Winesburg, Ohio.” At the end, many of the characters meet. Declan Mulligan has lost a wife and visits Ireland to connect with a remote past. Dexter Flanagan has lost a beautiful woman to another but writes a great love song. Two women, strangers to each other, make a personal intimate connection visiting Stonehenge. After a personal tragedy, Sean Dineen joins his ailing ex-wife to see the wedding of their son in Paraguay. The main characters eventually meet at the Hemingway memorial in Sun Valley, Idaho to share wine, cheese and music.



Petra’s Escape in Berlin

by E. Strupp-Martin

Berlin in 1945 is in the death throes of WWII. Amidst the chaos, Petra Schumann marries her childhood sweetheart Andreas Müller. As Hitler’s Third Reich is about to be toppled, they attempt to flee the Bolshevik invasion amidst flaring firebombs, hand-to-hand fighting, gunshots, and rapes of women and girls. Andreas who belongs to the resistance is determined to get his bride out of the city to safety in the west.
Caught in the crosshairs of the fiercest battle between the Nazis and Soviets, they witness loved ones perish and suddenly are themselves faced with a battle for their lives Unwittingly, they find themselves cornered by three Bolsheviks who have revenge on their minds.
Andreas takes a bullet in the chest and is barely alive. Petra, severely hurt herself, responds to her undying love for her husband and her determination to save him by dragging his wounded body into a nearby ruin to hide him, and then sets out to find medical help for him.
Along her way, she faces more terror but is unwavering in her quest to survive and save Andreas no matter what the cost.



Secret Love

by Elaine Young

Warning!: This book contains a wide collection of FREE BONUS BOOKS as a thank you for ordering. It also contains steamy romance scenes sure to entice you!

Secret Love

Headstrong Bella Barrington has always dreamed of finding true love. But when her marriage is arranged to the Duke of Chambray by her grandfather, Bella is determined to get out of it at any cost. Even if it means causing a scandal. As the Duke heads to London to claim his bride, Bella disappears. Disguised as a maid she takes refuge in the country and falls for the dashing groom, Luke.

She knows she has to resist the attraction she feels towards Luke but how long can she deny herself? Is she willing to turn her back on everything she has ever known to be with Luke forever? Or will duty and a broken heart ultimately bring her back to the Duke of Chambray?

WARNING: This ebook contains mature themes and language, intended for 18+ readers only.
AUTHOR’S NOTE: This is a stand alone romance with an HEA. This ebook contains mature themes and language, intended for 18+ readers only.



Military Romance 4 Book Box Set

by Love Obsession Books

Get 4 books of hot MILITARY romance adventures in this exciting new collection

ENJOY 13 FREE BONUS BOOKS
This collection contains bad boys, shifters, vampires, billionaires, mail order brides, highlanders, navy seals, and many more.

In this collection you will find:

To Love a Wounded Soldier

The Highlander’s English Princess

A Soldier’s Last Hope

Abducted By The Alpha Alien

TO LOVE A WOUNDED SOLDIER

The siege at Kimberley has lasted for four months and one day. Thaddeus Bennett was there for it all. Just when he thought he’d manage to get out with nothing more than a strong desire for a cold drink and water to wash his face, everything goes dark.

Molly Alexander has worked with the Red Cross for a long time now. She’s used to seeing the troop trains come in loaded with men. She’s used to seeing those same men either heal or die. But she’s not used to her heart skipping a beat when a stretcher goes past.

Thaddeus and Molly develop an immediate bond and attraction, but not everything is quite so simple. When a doctor gives Thaddeus news he never thought he’d hear, will it bring him closer to Molly? Or will it tear them apart forever?

The Highlander’s English Princess

This exciting tale of a war that is going on between England and Scotland, and a love affair that gets entwined with the struggle, will leave you wanting more.

A young aristocrat named Elizabeth gets sucked into the war and falls in love with a young Scottish non-commissioned officer named Hamish. The two of them work together to overcome the English tyranny and storm the castle of a despot Prince who also plans on becoming Elizabeth’s husband through a system of arranged marriage. The war ensues and a battle erupts where Hamish’s and Elizabeth’s very lives are at stake.

The other battle, one that is domestic, also rages on as Hamish has to win over Elizabeth’s family. Find out if the ending is a happy one by reading this tale of hostile encounters, human growth, and intimate and family relationships.

Download this collection now and spice up your Kindle with these hot romance reads!

WARNING: This ebook contains mature themes and language, intended for 18+ readers only.AUTHOR’S NOTE: This is a stand alone romance with an HEA. This ebook contains mature themes and language, intended for 18+ readers only.



The Scream of Silence (The Little Things That Kill Series Book 0)

by Pamela Crane

She had secretly wanted the baby to die, but Fate never sided with her until twenty-three years later, when Destiny Childs got her wish.

Broken, middle-aged Destiny daily struggles to survive her haunting past. Dead parents. Unplanned teen pregnancy. Cyclic addiction and depression. Life hasn’t treated her kindly. Then one day she sees the name of her castaway daughter on the news: a victim of murder.

Seeing this as an opportunity to extort the rich family her daughter left behind, Destiny crafts a plan. But as all her plans go, it loosens a mess of secrets long buried, along with the truth behind the killing.

In this haunting murder mystery short story, discover the gruesomely intimate stranger harbored within Destiny… and who may lurk within any one of us.

In this riveting prequel to international best-selling author Pamela Crane’s The Little Things That Kill Series, “The Scream of Silence” unravels the darkest depths of human nature. A chilling tale consumed in under an hour, but not so quickly digested.

“The Scream of Silence” originally appeared in Reader’s Circle of Avenue Park’s “Crooked Tales” anthology but is now published for the first time as a standalone short story.



Children of Covenant

by Fred Howard

Residents of a Southern town are confronted with their religious bigotry in this deeply felt story of justice, regret, and forgiveness.

When Lee Street, a prominent businessman, is found dead on his property the Muslim community was trying to purchase to build a mosque, a Muslim, Ismael Hagarson, is arrested for the murder. Hagarson had been outraged when Street reneged on the real estate deal with no explanation and now seems the most likely suspect.

Local minister Ike Benheart reluctantly comes forward with another explanation for Street’s death. Street was deeply troubled by questions about homosexuality, and met with the minister just before his death. Benheart suspects Street’s death was not a murder but a tragic suicide.Though Benheart goes to the defense attorney with his suspicions, nothing will dissuade the authorities from prosecuting Hagarson.

It is up to Benheart to get to the bottom of Street’s death and exonerate Hagarson. His search for the truth extends globally to Bangladesh, locally into the townspeople’s deep seated prejudices, and inwardly, as he must come to grips with a dark family secret held for a generation.

A probing, fearless exposé of prideful Southern intolerance reminiscent of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.