Free science fiction Kindle books for 02 Jun 17

The Day After Never – Blood Honor (Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian Thriller – Book 1)

by Russell Blake

They said it could never happen – that the day would never come. They were wrong.

Five years post-collapse, former Texas lawman Lucas Shaw is surviving hardscrabble in a kill-or-be-killed wasteland. When an enigmatic young woman enters his life with a desperate plea, Lucas must face impossible odds and battle an adversary who will stop at nothing to destroy them. Lightning-paced and gritty, Blood Honor, the debut novel in The Day After Never trilogy, is a non-stop adrenaline rush set in a chillingly plausible dystopian future.

Fans of Jack Reacher, The Hunger Games, and Road Warrior are sure to enjoy this post-collapse epic.

From The NY Times and USA Today bestselling author of the JET, Assassin, BLACK, and Fatal series, and co-author with Clive Cussler of The Eye of Heaven and The Solomon Curse.

~ ~ ~

“Best post-apocalyptic book I’ve read in ages. When the world ends, I hope this book survives. Can’t wait for the sequel.”

– Hugh Howey, bestselling author of Wool, Sand, Dust, and Beacon 23

“In Russell Blake’s The Day After Never, the world has ended but the adventure has just begun. It’s part survivalist fiction, part techno-thriller, part western – and much more. You won’t be able to stop turning the pages…even if the world collapses around you. A must read for any fan of post-apocalyptic fiction.”

– Tom Abrahams, bestselling author of HOME: A Post-Apocalyptic/Dystopian Adventure

“Russell Blake takes the post-apocalyptic genre by storm with The Day After Never – Blood Honor, a relentlessly paced, exquisitely crafted story of survival and redemption in a hellacious landscape forged after the fall of mankind. Blake hits the right dystopian notes from the very start, catapulting the reader into an unforgiving world: part Mad Max, part Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, and part Magnificent Seven.”

– Steven Konkoly, bestselling author of The Perseid Collapse and The Jakarta Pandemic

“Highly enjoyable dystopian thriller with a Western twist set in the feral badlands of a post-apocalyptic Texas. Russell Blake’s Lucas is a hardbitten hero I enjoyed rooting for as he reluctantly rescues a woman and child mysteriously important enough to kill whole villages over. Great beginning to a series that looks to be a first-rate gallop into a dark sunset.”

– Toby Neal, author of the bestselling Lei Crime Series

“The Day After Never is the new standard for post-apocalyptic fiction. Easily my favorite of 2016. No one writes this stuff better than Russell Blake.”

– Nicholas Sansbury Smith, author of The Extinction Cycle, Orbs, and Hell Divers



The Time Machine (Cronos Classics)

by H. G. Wells

The book’s protagonist is an amateur inventor or scientist living in London who is never named; he is identified simply as The Time Traveller. Having demonstrated to friends using a miniature model that time is a fourth dimension, and that a suitable apparatus can move back and forth in this fourth dimension, he builds a full-scale model capable of carrying himself. He sets off on a journey into the future.



The Island of Doctor Moreau

by H. G. Wells

Filmed numerous times, The Island of Doctor Moreau remains one of H. G. Wells’ best-known novels. The story tells of Edward Prendick, a shipwrecked man rescued by a passing boat who is left on the island home of Doctor Moreau, a reclusive genius who creates human-like hybrid beings from animals via vivisection.

The novel deals with a number of philosophical themes, including pain and cruelty, moral responsibility, human identity, and human interference with nature.



In The Shade: A Horror Novelette

by Jacob Stanley

Horror meets dark science fiction in this suspenseful tale of two brothers scarred by tragedy, and a monstrous secret hidden in the depths of the Louisiana swamp…

Ben has begun to suspect terrible things about his older brother Harold, and when he sees a local news story about a missing woman with a familiar face, he knows it’s time to stop pretending everything’s alright.

Today he will confront Harold.

Today he will ask for answers.

Today he will learn that sometimes knowledge is a terrible thing. Certain secrets are better left buried.



A Princess of Mars

by Edgar Rice Burroughs

I am a very old man; how old I do not knowâ?¦

So begins the classic inter-planetary adventure romance by Edgar Rice Burroughs first published in 1917. The story is set on Mars, imagined as a dying planet with a harsh desert environment. Burroughs wrote 11 books in the series which stars hero John Carter in the Martian world of Barsoom. The Barsoom tales were hugely influential on many later 20th century science fiction writers including Ray Bradbury, Arthur C. Clarke and Robert A. Heinlein.

This new digital edition of A Princess of Mars includes original cover art by Frank E. Schoonover.



The Space Merchants of Arachne

by Wendie Nordgren

Teagan Alaric Montgomery Lee has travelled through Galaxic space, married the man of her dreams, and gained the loving family she always has needed.

However, news of her father’s capture and execution by the Parvac Empire throws Teagan’s life into turmoil. Fearing her Parvac grandfather, General Valen, plans to abduct her, Teagan is desperate to avoid her grandmother’s fate. Never again to see Yukihyo or her family is a nightmare that forces Teagan from the stars to remain on Arachne.

Caught in a power struggle between the Galaxic Government and the Parvac Empire, Teagan’s fate hangs in the balance. Being protected by the Galaxic Militia, her family, and thousands of sentient Arachnean Silk spiders, may not be enough to prevent Teagan from losing everyone she loves.



The Windmill of Time: A Time Travel Memoir

by JEFFREY A. GOLDBERG

What if you had the opportunity to return to the past in a universe with time travel?

We all have regrets, what “might” have been, “could” have been, or “should” have been, things we wish we hadn’t said or done and things we wish we had. The Windmill of Time is a time travel memoir based on the relationship of Jeffrey Goldberg and Laureen Shigeko Tanaka during 1970-1974 at Southampton College, LIU. In 2010, Jeffrey learns that his college sweetheart has died when he searched her name in Google. All the memories, emotions, guilt, and regrets for Laureen that he had repressed for the past 35 years suddenly come back to haunt him.

It’s 2043 and the government is sending the elderly back in time to reduce the drain on Social Security and Medicare. Ninety-two-year-old Jeffrey Goldberg embarks on a journey back to 1971 and his twenty-year-old body. Once united with his former self, Jeffrey has but one goalâ??alter his past and correct the mistakes that caused him to lose his first love, Laureen. But present and future collide as Jeffrey ignores warnings from the scientists in 2043 and attempts to change major historical events. Armed with his knowledge of the future, and his memories of the past, Jeffrey explores the paradoxes of time travel until he begins to question his very existenceâ??and the authorities begin to question where he came by his information. If he tells them the truth, he’ll probably be locked up in a mental institution, but if he doesn’t come up with a reasonable explanation, he could go to jail. Either way, his hopes of reliving his life with Laureen will be dashed. The Windmill of Time begs the age-old question: can love really conquer time?



The Cyborg at the End of the Universe (The Adventures of HyperKid Book 2)

by Emerson Daub

On planet Alania, Alien-Bot wants to make his home world great again by destroying the universe. In the Tiran Galaxy, planet Kidok has vanished after its star went supernova and there have been no signs of survivors because the oppressive Kidokian government employed hackers and spread fake news to fool the public into thinking that the star was healthy and there was no need to evacuate even though it was obvious to most that something was wrong. On Earth, West Plains Mayor Maria Martinez has ignored the pleas of citizens who have fallen on hard times in order to focus her full attention on securing campaign contributions from wealthy donors in order to win her next election.

Welcome to the dark new age that Morgan Wallace (a.k.a. “HyperKid”) and Brian Bullini (a.k.a. “BullBorg”) suddenly find themselves living in. In this sequel to the highly acclaimed HyperKid v BullBorg, the super heroes, now in fifth grade, are transported through a wormhole that takes them to the Estarna Galaxy, the oldest part of the universe where intelligent life began. Alien-Bot is there waiting for them, but with the help of some tech upgrades from a thousand-year-old Viking and some unexpected allies, the heroes are able to prove their valor against a tyrant who shows no regard for anyone outside his very limited view of the universe.

The Cyborg at the End of the Universe combines classic science fiction, fantasy, and comic book super hero themes in the tradition of Star Wars, Star Trek, Marvel, DC, and even some 2001: A Space Odyssey with a dash of Stephen Hawking, and brings them into a dark new age where world leaders are willing to use any means necessary to preserve their own wealth and power without regard to the health of the universe and the people who live in it. The resistance against injustice and intolerance continues here with some contemporary real world twists, and the two young super heroes discover that it is absolutely necessary for beings from all walks of life to work together to fight those who think it is their right to destroy a universe that belongs to everyone in order to save their own little piece of it.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.