Free science fiction Kindle books for 09 Jun 17

Warchild: Pawn (The Warchild Series Book 1)

by Ernie Lindsey

Don’t ask me how or why the world ended, because I can’t tell you.

Society collapsed long before Caroline Mathers was born. At fourteen years old, she’s strong, mature beyond her age, but she knows nothing of cell phones, computers, or indoor plumbing–they’re remnants of history, wistful stories told around campfires. As an enlisted army scout for the People’s Republic of Virginia, Caroline’s duty is to patrol the surrounding forests, hiding, observing, and warning the citizens of her tiny outpost when danger is near. It’s a quiet life…

… until the day she hears the terrifying beat of distant drums echoing throughout their peaceful valley. An army is marching. War is coming. Destruction. Chaos. Nothing less than the powers of the mystical Kinders could save Caroline’s people now. But, the Kinders are just legends, ghosts from long ago.

And a girl shall lead them…

*****

As a quarter-finalist in Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel Award contest, Lindsey’s Warchild: Pawn, is a “…coming-of-age action-adventure dominated by a young girl just coming into her powers. A fine, durable, inaugural volume brimming with imagination and sparkling, inventive characters.” –Publishers Weekly

The first book of the Warchild trilogy is a suspenseful young adult novel, full of fast-paced action, ideal for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.



Can You Hear Me?

by Craig Burrows

This melancholy and poetic short speculative story depicts a meaningful fragment of an ongoing story, hinting at what has come before while leaving the reader to interpret the conclusion in a way that makes it a different story for each person. It is an enjoyable and simple read for most audiences without being strictly confined to any one genre.



Jane Carter of Earth and the Rescue that Never Was: A Gunslingers Short Story

by Joe Vasicek

To boldly go where no Earthfleet Academy Xenolinguistics major has gone before.

Jane Carter never thought she’d be the first human in the galaxy to be sold at an alien slave auction. As a xenolinguics major, she always wanted to explore new frontiers, but not like this.

As the bid price rockets to staggering heights, it becomes increasingly clear that only one man can rescue her: the one who sold her out. Thankfully, there are alternatives to being rescued.

This book is rated T according to the AO3 content rating system.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.