Free science fiction Kindle books for 13 Aug 17

STASIS: Apocalypse Now

by E.W. Osborne

No power. No technology. Society has been thrown back into the dark ages and people are scrambling to survive.

Jana and her husband Wesley plan to keep their heads down, doing what they have to until the power comes back online. Then they’ll be safe.

But when a teenage boy shows up with a baby in his arms, they’re left questioning how much humanity remains in the world to save.

STASIS: Apocalypse Now is a short glimpse of life in a broken world. This short story takes place a few months after STASIS Part 1: Beta begins. This sci-fi series is perfect for people who love stories about the end of the world. Part thriller, part horror, STASIS Parts 1-3 are out now!

Rika Mechanized: A Rika Prequel (Rika’s Marauders Book 0)

by M. D. Cooper

A Novella of the Orion War (Aeon 14)
Rika is a scout mech, once human, now she is the property of the Genevian military.

Rika’s crime was small, stealing food. But when faced with a five-year prison term, or conscription in the Genevian military, she chose war.

She had no idea what that conscription would entail.

Now little of Rika’s human body remains, and she serves as an SMI-2 scout mech, the meat inside a cyborg body. She, and others like her, are sent in ahead of the human soldiers to tip the scales of war.

But the enemy has upped the ante and the mechs of Rika’s fireteam will have to go up against unimaginable odds if they want to serve their time and become human again.

An Aeon 14 series
The events of the Rika’s Marauders series occur during the New Canaan time span in The Orion War series. This series may be read at any time after reading Destiny Lost, New Canaan, or Orion Rising.

About M. D. Cooper & Aeon 14
M. D. Cooper is a New York Times bestselling author who has envisioned a rich future for humanity, one where planet-sized megastructures house trillions of humans, and civilization has risen only to fall and rise again.

Fans of Starship Troopers, Honor Harrington, The Expanse, or Elizabeth Moon’s Vatta’s War will feel right at home in this, the first book of the Rika’s Marauders, which takes a deeper dive into the world of Aeon 14.

Over the course of the next few years, M. D. Cooper plans to release an additional twenty-two books in this expanding universe. So strap in with Rika and get ready to kick some ass as we find out what the future has in store for us.

What is Aeon 14?
The universe of Aeon 14 is based on the premise that advanced, intelligent, starfaring life takes 14 billion years to evolve. In astronomy an aeon is a billion years. In Aeon 14, humanity is at the leading edge of this evolution in the Milky Way Galaxy.

Humanity and the AIs they have created spread out amongst the stars and find that they are alone, though it may not always be that way….

Recommended Reading Order:

  1. Outsystem
  2. A Path in the Darkness
  3. Destiny Rising can also be read in place of Outsystem & A Path in the Darkness
  4. Building Victoria
  5. Destiny Lost (also works as a starting point)
  6. Set the Galaxy on Fire
  7. New Canaan
  8. Orion Rising
  9. Rika Mechanized (can be read at any time after Destiny Lost)
  10. Close Proximity (Forthcoming – can be read at any point after Destiny Lost)
  11. Strike Vector (Forthcoming – to be read after Close Proximity)
  12. Rika Outcast (Forthcoming – can be read at any point after Destiny Lost)

– The forthcoming Delta-Team stories can be read at any point after Destiny Lost, but may contain small spoilers.
– The forthcoming 242nd Marine stories can be read at any point after Outsystem.

The Lost Star’s Sea: The Lost Star Stories Volume Two

by C. Litka

Volume Two of The Lost Star Stories, The Lost Star’s Sea, takes up the tale of Captain Wil Litang begun in The Bright Black Sea and brings it to its final conclusion. Once again C. Litka takes a classic pulp age science fiction story-type – in this case the “planetary romance,” made famous by Edgar Rice Burroughs – and reinvents it for the 21st century readers as a sprawling, character-driven novel full of adventure, invention, and humor.

The story opens with Captain Wil Litang shipwrecked on a small island in the atmospheric ocean of the fabled “Lost Star;” the hidden Tenth star of the Nine Star Nebula. Stranded, he must face the many perils the Pela has to offer, including a reluctant assassin, deadly storms, fierce dragons, colorful pirates, and grim slavers. Travel alongside Litang, his feathered dragon companion, Hissi, and the friends he makes along the way through the islands. Share their desperate adventures and amazing discoveries, and escape, for a while, to the islands of the Pela, far, far away.

Please note: The first part of the Lost Star’s Sea, Castaways, was originally published in 2016 as a standalone novel, Castaways of the Lost Star. The remaining 80% of The Lost Star’s Sea is new, never before published material.

Other books by C. Litka:

The Bright Black Sea, In Volume One of the Lost Star Stories, Wil Litang finds himself captain of the tramp ship Lost Star just as its old and deadly secrets catch up with it. He and his shipmates are driven out into the most dangerous places of the Nine Star Nebula, and in the end, to the Lost Star itself.

A Summer in Amber A post-apocalyptic, steampunkish adventure/romance set in Scotland after a series of powerful solar storms has thrown the modern world back into the 19th century.

Some Day Days A new adult romance/science fiction story set in Oxford and Cambridge prior to the solar storms that set the stage for A Summer in Amber.

Available from this ebook store

Earth II – Box Set

by Ray Jay Perreault

“Earth II – Julius the First”
Fifth book in the Virus/Earth II Series
In this post-apocalyptic story, Earth has survived the alien attack where a virus was used to clean the planet before harvesting. As a war reparation from their first alien contact, mankind was given thousands of space ships and robots. The few survivors know they must adapt to survive. There is an unexplored Galaxy beyond their solar system. They must be wary of their neighbors but also Julius which was an intelligent computer unleashed during the viral attack. He is programmed to deal with the two threats to his existence. SIMPOC, the other intelligent computer programmed to help humans, and the remaining humans. He too received a huge space ship from the aborted attack on Earth, but he must find resources so that he can deal with SIMPOC and the survivors.
This story is written from the â??Evil Compute’s’ perspective and will parallel Book 6 which continues the human saga as they explore the universe. Both books will come together in Book 7 when the conflict is resolved.

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.