Free science fiction Kindle books for 27 Dec 17

Lingua Galactica

by S. J. Schwaidelson

“All I ask is that I be given the same opportunities given to other officers of my rank. If I screw up, tell me. If I screw up royally, get me off your ship. But don’t discard me simply because my surname is Rothko.”

As communications officer and chief linguist on the U.S.S. Washington, D.C., Lieutenant Sarah Jane Rothko Krieg’s primary function is to make sure they understand what is being said to them, and that the non-Terrans understand what they are saying. Nuance is everything.

When a guest diplomat hitching a ride on the Washington decides to stalk the lieutenant as prey, nuance is not enough. Finding herself at the center of an interplanetary scandal, Lieutenant Krieg decides without hesitation she will not be a victim. Using her training, her strength, and her wits, she is determined to be the master of her own fate.



Black Dawn (The Eurynome Code Book 1)

by K. Gorman

Humanity is under attack and she is the only one who can stop it.

For Karin Makos, the chance to pilot a small-time scrounging vessel to remote corners of space is the dream. After years on the run with her sister and enduring the constant paranoia of living planet-side, going off-radar gives her exactly what she wants: freedom.

That dream is shattered.

A system-wide attack decimates humanity and leaves the survivors scraping for clues. And Karin might know where to look.

But digging into her past comes with a whole new set of secrets and consequences, none of which she wants to face. Plagued by strange dreams of her sister and a sense of growing danger, Karin and the crew of the Nemina must race desperately across space to find their loved onesâ??and answers.

Made for fans of Firefly, Stargate, and Battlestar Galactica, this fast-paced novel contains some strong language, a lot of action, and more than its share of snark.



The Phoenix Rising (The Phoenix Conspiracy Series Book 2)

by Richard Sanders

As the most serious threat ever facing the galaxy now looms over themâ??weapons able to destroy starsâ??Calvin and his enterprising crew continue their mission to expose and eliminate the dark conspiracy that has taken root inside the Empire.

Now a fugitive on the run, Calvin has no choice but to work alongside Raidan’s mysterious Organization. And accept help from the unlikeliest band of fair-weather friends, including a mysterious squad of Polarian soldiers, an ex-intelligence-operative from the Rotham Republic, and the ever elusive Tristanâ??whose truest motives are a closely guarded secret.

To make matters worse, Calvin is hunted mercilessly across the stars by Intel Wing’s top operative, Lafayette Nimoux, who is aided by a double-agent on Calvin’s own ship.

Meanwhile the sands of fortune are shifting within the Empire, upsetting the delicate political climate. Warships and civilian transports are vanishing without a trace and murders in the dark are going unnoticed. All eyes are fixed on Renoraâ??a human colony that has been savagely attacked and thrown into civil war. The prime suspect behind the attack is none other than Princess Kalila Akira.

All the dark signs are pointing to what could be the death of the Empire, and the end of human dominance in the galaxy.



The Invisible Man

by H. G. Wells

The Invisible Man is a science fiction novel by H. G. Wells. Originally serialized in Pearson’s Weekly in 1897, it was published as a novel the same year. The Invisible Man of the title is Griffin, a scientist who has devoted himself to research into optics and invents a way to change a body’s refractive index to that of air so that it neither absorbs nor reflects light and thus becomes invisible. He successfully carries out this procedure on himself, but fails in his attempt to reverse it. An enthusiast of random and irresponsible violence, Griffin has become an iconic character in horror fiction.



Tuning the Symphony

by William C Tracy

Change one note and the universe changes with the Symphony.

One apprentice will become a full majus today. The other will wait months for another suitable challenger. Rilan Ayama is skilled in using her song to change the Grand Symphony of the universe, but her opponent, Vethis, is crafty, and not above a little simple bribery. Though Rilan is counting on the support of her closest friend Origon, he remains absent. She has only a cryptic note saying important matters of his family take precedence, and he needs her help. The mystery pulls Rilan’s attention away from the most important test of her life.

Maji create portals between the far flung planets of the Great Assembly of Species, but many places still remain out of easy reach. A search for Origon’s brother leads Rilan and her friend across the wilds of one of the ten homeworlds. There, Rilan’s fledgling skills are pushed to their limits as they investigate a secret that could bring down all six houses of the maji.



Merchants and Maji: Two Tales of the Dissolutionverse

by William C. Tracy

An old war machine and a revolutionary space capsule will change relations among the ten species forever

Last Delivery
Prot, Amra, and crew sell goods across the ten homeworlds in a refitted war transport, saving up to buy a shop. But after fees to travel between worlds, their profits always fall short. Their newest customers are the xenophobic Sureriaj. But when a protest over offworlder trading shuts down all business, the crew’s only hope is to leave the planet delivering emergency medical supplies. The contract is for too much money, the seller is using a false name, and the cargo is magically sealed. Nothing could go wrong.

The First Majus in Space
The ten species are in awe of the first space capsule. But when the majus piloting it is assassinated, Origon Cyrysi is the only one able to complete the mission. Too late, he finds the spacecraft may cost him his abilities. And even if Origon returns from space, the escaped assassin might still trigger an interstellar war. Either way, the fuel is burning.



The Fall: Book 1 – Conversion

by S.T. Campitelli

Melbourne, Australia, 2052, two years since The Fall.

A wave of infection, the Jackson Virus, has swept the world, leaving in its wake a terrifying apocalyptic wasteland populated by wild cleanskin survivor groups and the ravenous, infected night predators – the jacks. In this nightmare landscape, one of the last remaining sanctuaries is Kulin Wallcom, a community enclosed by a 10-metre wall patrolled by what’s left of the military. The wallcoms are the last remaining bastions of defence and security in a world gone over the edge.

But the people of Kulin can’t stay behind their wall forever.

Recovery expert, John Bradley, is part of a major operation into the wasteland looking to not only ensure the survival of Kulin by bringing back critical supplies from the abandoned Southstone Supermall, but, more crucially, to also locate and extract the only person left who may be able to reverse the tide of infection.

However, the mission faces danger at every turn. It seems to be compromised from the inside, Southstone is thought to be an impossible target overrun with infected, and wasteland survivor bands, led by the psychopathic wasteland leader, the Headhunter, are bent on making sure the operation has to fight each step of the way to get back to the wallcom before nightfall.

Because that’s when the jacks come out.

And they will find you.

Welcome to the world of The Fall.



Phoenix One (Ascension Series Book 1)

by Chase MacLeod

The decay of Earth’s atmosphere forces mankind to move off-world, with the help of their alien neighbors. A massive undertaking to build a replacement as time runs out, but someone has other ideas. Someone doesn’t want the project to succeed and already tense interspecies relations are pushed to their limit. Devin Slade, an outcast relegated to life on the surface, witnesses the destruction of a floating city housing thousands of people, alien and human alike. Initially a suspect, he must prove his innocence while fighting to survive the hostile world around him. Meanwhile, an undercover agent working for The Human Collective Government catches wind of a sinister plot that could mean the end of mankind. Is it possible to make a new home, with new neighbors, when forces conspire against humanities last hope?



The Phoenix Requiem (The Phoenix Conspiracy Series Book 7)

by Richard Sanders

Death. Destruction. Despair. These are the hallmarks of the Dread Fleet. It is an unstoppable force that, when summoned to do so, will scourge the galaxy in a Holy Reckoning, seeking to purify the many inhabitable worlds through a merciless outpouring of fire.

Calvin and his crew have a plan to stop this Reckoning once and for all, but their odds of success are slim. Meanwhile Queen Kalila stands against the mighty Dread Fleet with the all the strength of the war-torn and broken remains of the Empire. Alex, meanwhile, tries to manipulate his own people into joining the battle–knowing that once the Dread Fleet has eliminated humanity, it will be coming for the Rotham next.

In this the finale to The Phoenix Conspiracy Series there is death, sacrifice, gloom, doom, despair, and tragedy … all in the forlorn hope that somehow the heroes may prevail.

And, behind the curtains of it all, lurks a dangerous dark figure, whose path must cross Calvin’s–an encounter that may end in death.



Collision of Worlds (Graveyard of Empires Book 2)

by Lincoln Cole

Things are heating up in the galaxy as the Union tries to find an edge in its conflict with the Republic. The war is becoming more of a reality every day: terrorists and rioters are cropping up as the disenfranchised take matters into their own hands. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Jayson finds himself caught in the middle of political machinations he has no control over and fighting to stay alive. Traq is learning more about the galaxy than he imagined, and Vivian is struggling to come to terms with his gifts: he’s like nothing she’s ever seen before and she is afraid she won’t be able to help him.

Meanwhile, Abdullah is being asked to make a terrible choice. He is certain he knows what is expected of him, but it’s a decision he isn’t sure if he can live with.

The war is beginning in full and billions of lives are at stake in the coming conflict, but right now it’s still anyone’s game to win.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.