Free historical fiction Kindle books for 20 Apr 18

A Turn of Cards

by Helen Susan Swift

As Edinburgh awaits the French invasion during the winter of 1804, Dorothea Flockhart heads to a storyteller and hears of a man in a uniform in her future.

Soon, Dorothea meets the handsome Captain Rogers. Together, they must navigate the tumultuous life that is war-time Scotland.

What Captain Rogers doesn’t know is that Dorothea’s past holds many secrets… ones which will change both of their lives forever.



We Stand Alone: The Airmen Series Book 1

by David Lee Corley

A Novel Based on a True Story of the Indochina War

It wasn’t his warâ?¦ not yet.  The American pilot, Tom Coyle, had already fought in two wars and had no desire to fight in a third when he was hired by the French Airforce to fly cargo missions. “No combat, just cargo” was what the contract read. His job was high pay and low risk when compared to the bomber missions he flew in World War II and Koreaâ?¦ and that was way he wanted keep it.

All that changed when Coyle met Brigitte Friang, a French war correspondent assigned to cover the courageous paratroopers jumping into the northern highlands of Vietnam.  Constantly on the move in the most dangerous of places, Brigitte was not the easiest girl to court, but Coyle was inexplicably drawn to her and determined to win her over. Things became even more complicated when Brigitte discovered that the commander of the para battalion she was sent to cover was her former lover and fellow French resistance fighter, Major “Bruno” Bigeard.  The two rivals in the unspoken love triangle soon become friends when both struggled to protect Brigitte as the battle raged. But time was running out for Brigitte, Coyle and Bruno as the Viet Minh closed in on the French garrison to cut it off from the outside world. Bound by duty, Brigitte was determined to stay and Coyle was forced to choose between surrendering his quest to win Brigitte’s heart or joining a fight that could end with his ultimate sacrifice.

Powerful and compelling, We Stand Alone is an epic war novel written in the tradition of “For Whom The Bell Tolls” and “From Here to Eternity”, but with the modern intensity of “Matterhorn.” Indochina was a neglected crystal ball that became the war before the war. This is the story of the final and tragic battle in the valley of Dien Bien Phu.

“We rarely learn from warâ?¦ but we should.” – The Author, David Lee Corley

Written by David Lee Corley, the screenwriter for the movies Solo, Second in Command, Executive Power and Angel’s Dance.



AFTER THE DAWN (BOOK TWO of the frontier trilogy LEGEND of the DAWN)

by J. R. WRIGHT

“If you like frontier love stories you’ll want to read this one.”
This is the continueing story of Luke McKinney and Breanne Bruyere and their never ending love for one another.

To begin this trilogy start with book one LEGEND OF THE DAWN.

THIS NOVEL IS BOOK TWO OF ‘THE LEGEND OF THE DAWN’ TRILOGY.



Fortitude

by Carrie Dalby

Growing up with a Creole best friend, sixteen-year-old Claire O’Farrell held little regard for the Jim Crow laws and the consequences of befriending those of a different color. But once she leaves the haven of her home on Dauphin Island, the reality of racial intolerance can no longer be ignored. Though she’s underage, Claire makes the bold decision to serve alongside Loretta, her best friend, in the “colored camp” hospital tents during the Spanish-American War, but her idealistic attitude and choice of working location immediately puts her in danger. Claire gives her heart to a soldier in the camp, only to find herself caught in the racial violence besieging the area. When the intolerant attitudes and stigma follow her home, she clings to her faith to navigate through her social isolation and find the path she was meant to travel.



BEFORE SUNDOWN (Final Book of the frontier trilogy LEGEND of the DAWN)

by J. R. WRIGHT

“If you like frontier love stories you’ll want to read this one.”
This is the final book in the continueing story of Luke McKinney and Breanne Bruyere and their never ending love for one another.

TO BEGIN THIS TRILOGY START WITH BOOK ONE “LEGEND OF THE DAWN”



Gold auf dunklem Grund: Cassiopeiapress Roman (German Edition)

by Ernst von Khuon

Roman von Ernst von Khuon

Der Umfang dieses Buchs entspricht 231 Taschenbuchseiten.

Aus einem Banksafe wird 1944 nach einem Fliegerangriff ein Goldklumpen geborgen. Das “Goldene Vlies”, eine schwere Halskette mit dem heidnischen Widder, wie es die Habsburger Kaiser für Verdienste verliehen, war im Feuersturm geschmolzen, nachdem es durch viele Generationen der Familie Trossingen aus Rottweil zum Schicksal geworden war.

Die Geschichte dieser Kette und ihrer jeweiligen Besitzer ist der ungewöhnliche, reizvolle Stoff des Romans. Die Zeitspanne von 1708 bis zum Ausgang des letzten Weltkrieges und viele Schauplätze Europas umfassend, ist der magische Zauberkreis des Goldenen Vlieses, das nie länger als achtzehn Jahre bei seinem Besitzer bleiben will …

Erwähnt sei hier nur die gespenstische Szene, in der vor dem Gang zum Schafott die Häftlinge Robespierres das Todestribunal als Theaterstück spielen und ein Trossingen im Hasardspiel ebendort die Schicksalskette an den todgeweihten Freund verliert und dabei â?? das Leben gewinnt.

Gibt es einen Zufall, oder muss man nur fest an das Glück glauben, damit es kommt?



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.