Free mystery and thriller Kindle books for 26 Apr 18

A Ton of Gold (Crystal Moore Suspense Book 1)

by James R. Callan

A story woven to perfection”, Ladywordsmith

An old folktale and the lure of gold cause murder, kidnapping, and arson in 2012 Texas.

Crystal Moore is dragged into danger when thugs set out to kill her only living relative, the grandmother who raised her. When attempts escalate, Crystal realizes the police can’t provide protection. She must take action. But this exposes Crystal to the attacks.

She needs all the help she can get from a former bull rider, her street-wise housemate, and her feisty, straight-talking grandmother.

And in the midst of murder, arson, and kidnapping, the man who nearly destroyed Crystal emotionally is coming back. This time, he intends to ruin her career.

” It is on my read it again list and not many books make it to that list.”: Nickoliina, on Amazon

“Callan draws genuine, sympathetic characters that pull you in.” Bestselling author Jory Sherman

“Altogether, this book is both exciting and fun with a very satisfactory ending…”, Big Al’s Books & Pals

“Loved the characters, and the ending is unique and unexpected.” G. Powell, on Amazon



Vampires

by J.R. Rain

Love mysteries? Crazy about vampires? A fan of Janet Evanovich and Laurell K. Hamilton? If so, then check out this generous serving of undead thrills by Amazon All-Star Author, J.R. Rain:

MOON DANCE
Vampire for Hire #1
by J.R. Rain

Six years ago federal agent Samantha Moon was the perfect wife and mother, your typical soccer mom with the minivan and suburban home. Then the unthinkable happens, an attack that changes her life forever. And forever is a very long time for a vampire.

Now the world at large thinks Samantha has developed a rare skin disease, a disease which forces her to quit her day job and stay out of the light of the sun. Now working the night shift as a private investigator, Samantha is hired by Kingsley Fulcrum to investigate the murder attempt on his life, a horrific scene captured on TV and seen around the country. But as the case unfolds, Samantha discovers Kingsley isn’t exactly what he appears to be; after all, there’s a reason why he survived five shots to the head.

BAD BLOOD
The Spider Trilogy #1
by J.R. Rain & Scott Nicholson

They call him Spider. And people come to him when they have a problem. So when teenager Parker Cole approaches Spider at night school, he figures she’s just another problem waiting to happen. But then she tells him about her father, who runs a cult called Cloudland based at the foot of mystical Mount Shasta, California.

And then she tells Spider about her best friend, who is now dead, her body completely drained of blood. Spider wonders if the death is the work of a fellow vampire…or if he’s now the target of a sinister game designed to lure him to Cloudland, where darker mysteries await.

THE VAMPIRE WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO
The Spinoza Trilogy #1
by J.R. Rain

Three years ago, high school student Veronica Fortune witnessed the brutal murder of her parents. Now armed and dangerous, she sets out to hunt down the very thing that destroyed her life.

That is, until she disappears.

Spinoza is a private investigator who specializes in finding the missing. He’s good at what he does. Damn good. But he’s also a recovering alcoholic and a royal mess. Hired to find Veronica, Spinoza won’t let his personal demonsâ??or demons of any kindâ??get in the way of finding the truth about the missing girl.

Now following a bizarre set of clues that leads him into stranger and stranger territory, Spinoza is about to come face-to-face with something legendary…and something hungry for blood.



Rogue Op II: A Chuck Brandt Thriller (The Brandt Series Book 4)

by Roger Weston

Flames of cold justice unleashed

BRANDT IS BACK!

Fans of Cussler, Flynn and Coes The Brandt Series is your next action-packed book series!

Brandt is unstoppable! customer review from The Recruiter

“Action, action all the way!” customer review from The Handler

“Another great book” review from The Handler

Rogue Op II: A Chuck Brandt Thriller (The Brandt Series Book 4)

They thought he was dead. They thought that problem was solved. They were wrong. Brandt is back!

General Ivan Lazar and his Black Cobra Brigade thought they could get away with their crimes against humanity. They thought they could unleash death and chaos and not pay a price. They thought they could plot against America and fly under the radar, but they forgot about the Brandt factorâ??the sheep dog, the protector. Brandt is back like never before in a no-holds-barred action thriller. He is a rogue operativeâ??an ex-assassin determined to protect the innocent and his country.

Well written, exciting, held my interest to the end. Hard to put down. Anxiously awaiting the next. Thank you.

“Very enjoyable action thriller! I would recommend it to friends.” Customer review for The Recruiter

Also by Roger Weston:
The Recruiter: A Chuck Brandt Thriller (The Brandt Series Book 1)
The Handler: A Chuck Brandt Thriller (The Brandt Series Book 2)
Rogue Op: A Chuck Brandt Thriller (The Brandt Series Book 3)
Global Tilt: A Chuck Brandt Novella
Vulcan Eye: A Chuck Brandt Novella
The Assassin’s Wife: A Meg Coles Thriller
Fatal Return: A Jake Sands Action-Adventure
The Confession: A Jake Sands Action-Adventure
The Golden Catch: A Frank Murdoch Action-Adventure

Short Stories by Roger Weston:
The True Tale of Castaway Daniel Foss
The True Tale of Castaway Ann Saunders

Coming Soon:
The Brandt Series Book 5

Don’t miss this high-octane action-packed book series in the tradition of Flynn, Cussler and Coes



I Warned You: A Vigilante Crime Thriller (Canine Partner) (Matt Ryan Book 1)

by Shawn Underhill

When Matt Ryan was born, he slapped the doctor.

Years later, his tiny home state of New Hampshire, known mostly as a vacation state for campers and skiers, is overwhelmed by the opioid epidemic. Lives are being lost, budgets are busted, petty crime is rising, and first responders are stretched thin. Ryan gets drawn into the mêlée when his small business becomes the hiding spot of $300K in cash, stolen from one drug distributor by another.

With easy money up for grabs, cold-blooded opportunists begin prowling the sleepy postcard town of Fall River, competing for the seemingly easy score.

Just one problem.

They weren’t counting on running into a brick wall like Ryan, or his canine companion, Sharky the maniac.

*This is a vigilante crime/action story with a touch of dry humor, not an addiction story or a police procedural. There is absolutely no romance. I mean none whatsoever. Unless you consider the bond between a man and his dog romantic. There’s plenty of that.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.