Free horror Kindle books for 15 Jun 18

The Road to Kyoto

by Rebecca R. Pierce

Four samurai accompanying four sisters to Kyoto are caught by a sudden snowstorm. They take refuge in what appears to be an abandoned monastery… only it’s not nearly as abandoned as they’d like…



The Last Call

by Jessica Burdell

Jessica Jacklyn Burdell, known mainly and formidably by her official monikers, Samantha Komodo and “Cheezi D”, is a Mountain Lion and American horror author, poet and songwriter.
She has been writing series of more than many fiction/action/thriller series
book since the tender cub age of five; with her most famous hits apparently
being “Lone Wolves” and her most recently self published, all anti-villain
main cast crime drama saga, “Lobo Thunder/The Hystericals”. So far, her
current writing ambitions include writing to express not only her
own physical emotions into her works, but also those maybe of other animal
beings around her in the world as well.



The Garden of Fragile Things

by Richard J. O’Brien

“You won’t want to put it down â?? and you probably won’t either until there are no more pages to turn.” ~ Thomas E. Kennedy, author of In the Company of Angels, Falling Sideways, and Kerrigan in Copenhagen

“A dark fantasy bildungsroman in the tradition of Stephen King’s It and Robert McCammon’s Boy’s Life”

In the late 1970s, Joe Godwin was just twelve years old, living in a working-class neighborhood. Plagued by bullies and a volatile home life, Joe spends his time with his three friends in search of adventure.

The discovery of an abandoned mansion during a simple camping trip in a state forest sets of a series of consequences in motion between the boys, inhabitants of the mansion, and the others who occupy the garden behind the colossal home.

The Garden of Fragile Things is a literary dark tale that chronicles four boys’ coming of age against paranormal forces that operate between two worlds.

“From the first paragraphs, The Garden of Fragile Things holds you in its charm. Anyone who is young, anyone who can or wants to remember the mystery, enchantment, and fragility of youth will enjoy the rich mystery of O’Brien’s Garden of Fragile Things.” ~ Thomas E. Kennedy, author of In the Company of Angels, Falling Sideways, and Kerrigan in Copenhagen(A New York Times Notable Book).

Buy now and get a free Kindle book with paperback via Kindle Matchbook!



Tales from The Lake Vol.2

by Jack Ketchum

The new breed of legends continuesâ?¦

If you came here to read short stories about tranquil lakes, run to the nearest exit. Run as far away as you can from Ramsey Campbell, Jack Ketchum, Edward Lee, and our array of international voices.

Tales from The Lake volume two also includes the three winners from Crystal Lake Publishing’s Tales from The Lake Horror Writing Competition:

1st: Descending by John Whalen

2nd: Forever Dark by Jonathan Winn

3rd: Ripperscape by Vincenzo Bilof

Beneath this lake you’ll find nothing but mystery and suspense, horror and dread. Not to mention death and misery – tales to share around the campfire or living room floor. Dive beneath a frozen lake with Rena Mason’s “Winter’s Dollhouse”; allow Tim Lebbon to introduce you to “The God of Rain”; don’t go into the lake when Jim Goforth takes you to the haunting sit of “Lago de los Perdidos”; and never get in an elevator again with John Whalen’s award-winning “Descending.”

So dive on in.

The water’s justâ?¦right.


Interview with the Authors:

So what makes Tales from The Lake so special?

Ben Eads: As a reader: Legends and up-and-comers in the field of horror consistently knock each volume out of the ball park. It’s a great anthology. As a writer: Aside from sharing the pages with some of the best writers in the biz? The open-theme affords me a broader canvas to write. And, of course, the recognition!

Raven Dane: Publisher Joe Mynhardt and his team of genre enthusiasts strive to bring the reader only the highest quality short fiction in the Tales From The Lake series. Whether the author is well established name or a bright future star, excellence and innovation is always foremost. This is a publishing house with great integrity and passion, a deep-rooted love of horror and total respect for both writer and reader. And noâ?¦I do not work for their PR department! This is my genuine experience as both contributor and reader of Crystal Lake books.

Tell us more about your story?

Lisa Morton: It was inspired by two separate ideas: 1) I enjoy weird westerns and wanted to try one; and 2) I was interested in writing something about a succubus, and I had this question: would a gay man be affected by a supernatural temptress who presents as an exotic woman? I started doing a little research on the Old West (train lines, towns, gunslingers, etc.), and the story started to coalesce from there.

Why should readers give this series a try?

Ben Eads: Everyone loves an end of the world story, right?

Raven Dane: The best reason of all, meticulously produced books packed with intriguing stories from an international collection of great writers. There are many horror anthologies available now, with a resurgence of enthusiasm for short fiction. Sadly not all are worth bothering with, to be brutally honest!  A reader is in safe hands with a Tales from The Lake volume. Crystal Lake is fast becoming synonymous for high quality production and wonderful story telling.

Proudly brought to you by Crystal Lake Publishing – Tales from the Darkest Depths


Tales from The Lake eBook categories:

  • Horror short stories
  • Horror anthologies
  • Dark Fiction
  • Speculative Fiction
  • Legends and monsters


Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.