Free literary fiction Kindle books for 17 Jun 18

Magpie: A Collection of Really Short Stories

by Carrie Mumford

Fast. Fearless. Memorable.

The eleven stories found in Magpie: A Collection of Really Short Stories will introduce you to a motley cast of strong female characters with one thing in common: heart. Stories include Pushcart-nominated The Blemish Collector, heart-wrenching Ashes, short-and-not-so-sweet Magpie, and the previously unpublished flash story, The Jackals.

“There are a lot of things in life that are hard. Creating yourself anew through a stale marriage. Managing your regret in the face of great trauma. Struggling with your life choices in the presence of a nun. Let Carrie Mumford walk you through these situations, crafting stories and lives that feel as dear and personal as family.” — Joseph Carlough

Filled with tales of strong, struggling, and stunning women, Magpie: A Collection of Really Short Stories, is sure to entertain.

A Secret to the Grave (Detective Parker Bell Book 1)

by Jane Blythe

He needs to save her, but she doesn’t want to be saved.

Detective Parker Bell has just returned to work after a shooting when he and his partner land the case of a young woman abducted by a man who has left a list of clues pointing to nine other women he plans to kill.

Throughout the course of the investigation Parker meets Tessa Micah, a potential victim and the most interesting, stubborn, infuriating woman he has ever met. When Tessa refuses to shed any light on why she is in the sights of a serial killer it’s up to Parker to find the madman before he can bring his plan to fruition, leaving ten dead women in his wake.

If you like dark, emotional romantic suspense with a damaged but tough heroine and a sexy but troubled hero like books by Karen Rose, Allison Brennan, and Lisa Gardner then you’ll want to read the Detective Parker Bell series.

One-click your copy to start reading this edge of your seat thriller today!

** Warning: Graphic violence and themes of sexual assault/abuse **

Complete series
1. A Secret to the Grave
2. Winter Wonderland
3. Dead or Alive
4. Little Girl Lost
5. Forgotten

The Pioneers

by James Fenimore Cooper

The first of the five Leatherstocking Tales, The Pioneers is perhaps the most realistic and beautiful of the series. Drawing on his own experiences, Cooper brilliantly describes Frontier life, providing a fascinating backdrop to the real heart of the novel–the competing claims to land ownership of Native Americans and settlers.

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.