Free fiction Kindle books for 03 Jul 18

Roommating (Preston’s Mill Book 1)

by Noelle Adams

Forget all those other roommate romances you might have read.

Heather and Chris don’t hate each other…very much. And they don’t have sex all the time…at least not at first. Chris doesn’t go around shirtless, flexing his muscles and driving Heather wild…too often. And he doesn’t get jealous and possessive every time she goes out with another man…well, maybe occasionally.

But they definitely don’t fall in love…right away.

When Heather comes back to her hometown, she plans to take over her father’s historic restoration business and move into a beautiful converted apartment in Preston’s Mill. Then she finds out she’ll have to partner up with the one man she can never forgive. Chris Dole, who abandoned her father and betrayed her trust three years ago.

It gets even worse. They don’t just have to work together. They have to become roommates for six months to prove they can get along. That means Heather will have to play nice with Chris and put up with his obnoxiousness, his drop-dead sexiness, and his ugly recliner named Flo.

She’ll do what she has to do out of loyalty to her father, but she isn’t going to like it.

At least not much.

Conquest (The Montbryce Legacy Anniversary Edition Book 1)

by Anna Markland

Celebrate the tenth anniversary of the inception of this enthralling story, chronicling the Norman invasion of England in 1066AD, the patriotic Welsh rebellion against it and the impact on the defeated and humiliated Saxons.
Conquest is the combination of two of Ms. Markland’s epic tales, Conquering Passion and Defiant Passion, with added scenes and new plot twists.
Conquest covers a span of over ten years and is rich in details of 11th century England, Scotland and Wales. Book One of the Montbryce Legacy (Anniversary Edition) introduces the three Montbryce brothers, Rambaud (Ram), Antoine and Hugh, sons of a noble Norman family with a long and illustrious military history.
Ram de Montbryce is an ambitious warrior, greedy for glory and power in the service of his friend and duke, William the Conqueror. His heroism at the Battle of Hastings helps secure a Norman victory. Nothing can stand in the way of his ambition, especially not love. He recognizes he has an obligation to marry, but believes the woman his father has chosen for him is unsuitable.
Mabelle de Valtesse has spent years wandering through Normandy with her exiled father. When his lands are finally restored to him and freedom is within her grasp, her father betroths her to Ram de Montbryce.
Follow Ram and Mabelle’s journey through the labyrinth of dangers in the aftermath of the Norman Conquest of England. Granted an earldom in the Welsh Marches as a reward for his bravery during the Battle of Hastings, Ram is expected to quell rebellious Welsh patriots, led by Rhodri ap Owain.
Mabelle, a strong heroine, is more than a match for her warrior hero. Passion quickly flares between them, but both are reluctant to admit their love. Ram demands obedience in a wife. Can he find love with the wilful refugee brought to his bed in an arranged marriage?
Only through trials and tragedy do they finally realize that they can no longer deny what their hearts have always knownâ??love conquers all.
But will the same hold true for Rhodri, or is he fated to live a lonely life fighting against a powerful enemy?
Relive turbulent times through the eyes of the conquerors and the conquered.
Lovers of medieval romance and British history during the time of King William the Conqueror will enjoy this intimate story of passion, betrayal, ambition, vengeance, and of course love.

American Girl

by Iowa Riley

Sometimes an empty life is more than we can carry.
Kate Archer, an American novelist in her thirties, lives with her husband Paul in their Brooklyn neighborhood. Though she leads a comfortable life, Kate has never achieved her dreams. Her career is stagnant, and her marriage tepid, weighed down under a tragic secret – one she’s kept to protect Paul at the cost of herself. Her emotional collision with a man half a world away, one who admires her hidden passion, crumbles her old life irreversibly.
Kate finds the courage to risk everything for the life she’s always wanted. When a cruel twist of fate puts her at odds with the two people she loves most, her new life is torn apart. Kate cannot go back, and there doesn’t seem to be a way forward.
Negotiating between love and obligation, guilt and compassion, bravery and cruelty, she must decide what belongs to her, and what she can afford to sacrifice for her independence. Can Kate learn to love the woman that remains?

Traded: Brody and Kara (Cliffside Bay Series Book 1)

by Tess Thompson

Brody Mullen is the best quarterback in the AFL, and his Super Bowl win only confirms what he’s suspected his entire career: romantic entanglements are bad for his game. No women. No sex. No problems. But after hiring a beautiful nurse to care for his mother, his resolve begins to weaken.
The small coastal town of Cliffside Bay, California seems like the perfect place to start over for Kara Eaton. Shielded by her new identity from the Witness Protection Program, she takes a job as a nurse and commits to never speaking of her past, lest she risk losing her life. The only problem? Falling for the handsome, very public, football player who hires her.
The first installment of The Cliffside Bay Series by bestselling author Tess Thompson follows the interwoven stories of five best friends, the beach community they love, and the women who captivate them. Prepare to get lost in a wave of small town charm, men you would love to take home to your mother, and smart, resilient heroines you wished lived next door.

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.