Free fantasy Kindle books for 05 Jul 18

Salvage Trouble: Mission 1 (Black Ocean)

by J.S. Morin

Hitchhikers are trouble in any galaxy.

Carl Ramsey has a starship to run. Down on his luck, struggling to pay the cost of fuel, he’s just looking for some quick, easy cash. While looting the wreck of passenger ship, they discover that one escape pod never ejected, and the passengers are still alive. A routine salvage job turns into a rescue mission, and a good deed never goes unpunished. With two refugees aboard, Captain Carl Ramsey finds that his ship, the Mobius, has a target painted on its hull. Someone is after the new passengers, and willing to stop at nothing to get them back.

With his ex-wife as pilot, a drunken mechanic, a predatory bodyguard, and an outcast wizard from the Convocation, what’s a captain to do? Just get paid for the job, and try to keep everyone alive. That’s all you can ever ask, really.

Salvage Trouble is the first mission of Black Ocean, a science fantasy series set in the 26th century. Do you wish there had been a second season of Firefly? Do you love the irreverent fun of Guardians of the Galaxy? Have you ever wondered how Star Wars would have turned out if Luke and Obi-wan had ditched the rebellion to become smugglers with Han and Chewie? Then Black Ocean is the series for you!

Pick up your copy of Salvage Trouble, and aim to misbehave with the crew of the Mobius.



Sidequest: In Realms Ungoogled

by Frank J. Fleming

Terrance Denby takes an unusual route to work one day and finds himself in an enchanted forest where winged fairies give him a sword and tell him, “Your journey is about to begin. Learn to use this sword or perish.”

Terrance doesn’t have time to go on a magical quest: he’s late for his job as a computer programmer. But when he gets to work, he suddenly notices things he hadn’t seen before. Like the fact that his boss is a demon with scaly skin, horns, and bloodstained fangs. Or that an “unnamed thing below” feasts on human victims in an arena filled with people absorbed in their cell phones.

Set up on a blind date with a perky blonde named Shannon, Terrance finds that she is wearing a full suit of armor complete with a helmet and sword. “I’m a Sister of Torment,” she explains. “We’re a group of women who serve the Darkness.” Terrance can’t help wondering how such a nice, attractive girl ended up beheading people with an ax.

But their budding romance is complicated when Terrance is recruited by The Infinite, a shadowy group that is at war with the Sisters of Torment and their demonic overlords. Will Terrance join them? Or will he try to return to his old life and forget the evidence of his now-awakened senses? Faeries, elves, warriors, mermaids, and his dark-souled girlfriend will help him decide.



Laney (The Brookehaven Vampires, Book 1)

by Joann I. Martin Sowles

Laney: The Brookehaven Vampires, Book 1

In a small college town in Northern California, Laney Alexander leads a regular, uneventful life, that is until the charming and alluring Oliver Knight enters her world. Who is this gorgeous and mysterious stranger? Or, rather, what is he?

As Laney’s sophomore year of college begins, so does an unbelievable adventure, including a love she didn’t know she longed for. She quickly learns that Oliver is not ordinary, nor is the rest of his family, including a sister who openly hates her and a brother who will stop at nothing to get revenge.

As she fights for her life, and Oliver’s love, Laney discovers that the fictional world of vampires isn’t so fictional after all. Nobody is safe, especially Laney, Oliver’s most important priority, and he will stop at nothing to protect her. With her mortality at risk, and a commitment revealed that she, without a doubt, knows she wants, Laney’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turnâ?¦

*Mature Content Warning* 18+
The Brookehaven Vampires series contains mature themes, including sexual content, violence, strong language, and alcohol use. It is intended for a mature audience.



Silver Hollow: 2018 Edition (Borderlands Saga)

by Jennifer Silverwood

“I shouldn’t have to tell you this isn’t a fairy storyâ?¦”

Amie Wentworth trusts books more than people. After her parents’ deaths ten years before, she writes fiction to escape reality. A timely invitation from her long-lost uncle arrives, but she’s used to ignoring the mysterious surrounding her life.

Until she is stabbed in an alley and brought back to life by a handsome stranger. Soon Amie is dragged into the very sort of tale she is used to selling. To make matters worse, the man who saved her life keeps turning up and her would-be-murderer is still at large.

After crossing the Atlantic to her father’s homeland, she discovers a world beyond imagining. Silver Hollow is a place of ancient traditions and supernatural dangers, where everything is the opposite of what it seems and few escape sane. Faced with an impossible choice, Amie is forced to confront a deadly family legacy while remembering a life she soon wishes to forget.

**Previously published in 2012. This NEW EDITION has been FULLY REVISED AND EXPANDED. The original novel is now no longer available.**



Fallen Empire: An Epic Dragon Fantasy Adventure (Empire of Dragons Chronicles Book 1)

by K.N. Lee

#1 Bestseller in Norse and Viking Fairytales.
Fierce dragons, a strong female protagonist, wolves, and magic combine in a thrilling epic fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Dragonlance and Mistborn.

The Brotherhood destroyed her home, her family, and everything she loved. Amalia has hidden from the dragon-riding monks since childhood. Now, she must learn to control her newfound power and survive amongst the Mage race’s natural-born enemy…

Wolf-shifting warriors.
For Amalia, the gods are not just memories. They are her ancestors, and before she can truly unlock her power, she will come face-to-face with the keeper of a lost empire.

A dragon.

In this sprawling epic fantasy novel with shifting wolf hybrids, dragons, and mermaids, Amalia and Kylan begin their quest to return their realm to its former glory. Join New York Times bestselling author, K.N. Lee on an adventure fans of Dragon Riders of Pern, Vikings and Game of Thrones will fall for.

Grab your copy of this epic fantasy, swords and sorcery adventure today!

Reading Order:
Fallen Empire

Reign of Magic

Fire and Fury (Coming Soon)

Praise for Fallen Empire

“It was so original and full of surprises!”

“LOVE-this book! Another winner K.N. Lee!”

“Great ending!”
Scroll up and download the coming of age fantasy that is sure to sweep you away!



Realm of Mindweavers: Book one: Tales of Golmeira, an epic YA fantasy series

by Marianne Ratcliffe

A ruler is betrayed and his young daughter is forced to flee or die.

Teenage Zastra is a big disappointment to her father, Leodra, ruler of Golmeira, because she hasn’t got what it takes to become a mindweaver, one of the highly valued few who can manipulate the thoughts of others. Things get much worse for Zastra when she is roused from her bed to find that Leodra has been betrayed and her beloved Golmer Castle overrun with enemy soldiers. She escapes via the castle’s ancient underground tunnels, only to be faced with a terrible choice. Hunted across the turbulent landscape of Golmeira, Zastra must rely on her wits and the help of strangers as she tries to outrun the powerful forces set upon her trail.

Realm of Mindweavers is the first book in the Tales of Golmeira series. If you enjoy page-turning adventure stories with strong female protagonists such as Trudy Canavan’s Black Magician series or Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy, you’ll love these books.

â??Realm of Mindweavers is a great read, exciting, well-crafted and full of powerful well-realised characters.’ Brian Keaney, author of The Magical Detectives

What UK readers are saying about Realm of Mindweavers:

‘A novel novel – fantasy and equality as it should be.’ Amazon.co.uk reviewer

‘I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend to both younger and older readers who are fans of fantasy (I also enjoy Harry Potter and Game of Thrones). I was gripped after the first couple of chapters and am looking forward to reading the next book.’ Amazon.co.uk reviewer

‘A fantastic story that had me wanting to read more – I couldn’t put it down! And I can’t wait till the next edition to find out what happens to Zastra!’ Amazon.co.uk reviewer

‘I’m a fan of fantasy and this one is a great start to the series, introducing you to the important players and the powers they hold. I liked Zastra because she’s flawed like all of us. She doesn’t instantly take to everything and has to learn much of what she faces.’ Amazon.co.uk reviewer

‘A full and complete story, all the while beginning a full series, Realm of Mindweavers was an enthralling tale.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘The use of a new world, new creatures, a somewhat new idea of a power, the heroine not having said power, it all comes together to make a great story. The love, the friendship, the hate, the sorrow, the betrayal, the anger, the running. it all makes for a rollercoaster ride of emotions.’ Goodreads reviewer



Darkness (The Brookehaven Vampires #2)

by Joann I. Martin Sowles

Darkness: The Brookehaven Vampires, Book 2

Not long ago, Laney Alexander was living a carefree life, until she was thrown into a world full of creatures only the imagination thought possible. Now, after surviving a terrifying night, Laney and Oliver are hiding out at Julz’s place, but Julz is not happy to have visitors in her home, and emotions run high.

Laney is pushed to her limit as she watches Carter fight for his life and her relationship with Oliver becomes strained when she discovers secrets about Julz that could tear them apart.

As Laney reaches her boiling point, disaster strikes again and life as she knows it is shattered. Laney must come to terms with what has unfolded, but will she lose her way and let the darkness consume her, or will she find her light in Oliver?

Secrets will be revealed. Hearts will be broken. Lives will be lost. Darkness will fall.

*Mature Content Warning* 18+
The Brookehaven Vampires series contains mature themes, including sexual content, violence, strong language, and alcohol use. It is intended for a mature audience.



Invisible (The Curse of Avalon Book 1)

by Sariah Skye

My name is Ava Dawson. Ever since I was young, I have had this strange “gift” of invisibility. I can’t explain it, nor can I always control it. It affects my work, my personal life, datingâ??all but my mother and best friend seem to be affected. No matter what I do, I seem to always be forgotten.

Until I meet these gorgeous guys during a girls’ night out, and there’s something strangely alluring about them. An ancient curse brings us together, while a group of supernatural “Collectors” is threatening to tear us apart. They’re targeting people with special abilities like mine, and all four men have taken it upon themselves to protect me. But with their complicated pasts, I can’t help but feel protective of them, too. I’m trying not to get in over my head, with these men, and the magic.

But I have to admit, It’s nice to be seen after years of being invisible.

*Author’s Note: this book is a slow to medium burn ‘reverse harem’ romance; meaning, one woman, multiple love interests. This series is meant for adults only.
The book has been freshly formatted and recovered, but the story is still the same!



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.