Free science fiction Kindle books for 08 Jul 18

Arimus: Blood from the Stars

by Luigi Robles

As evil makes its way to Earth, an ancient being awakens.

Adam did not have any special talents, nor did he want to have any. All he wanted was to perhaps live a normal life, even if it meant living in monotony. But all that changed the day Adam died in a devastating floater accident. Adam was stunned to find himself resurrected and put back together, given another chance at life by an elder lifeforce that now inhabited his body. And when he begins to discover that his body has been augmented in ways that are impossible to comprehend, a new purpose in life begins to reveal itself.

Adam’s newfound power sets him on a path of maximum resistance in search of an ancient being, the same being the alien residents of Ether LA have been searching for all along.



Ride of the Late Rain (The Vergassy Chronicles Book 1)

by James Young

“Ride of the Late Rain is a great read with well-crafted dialogue and outstanding, realistic battle scenes…”–Pop Cults.

“A captain’s first duty is to the Confederation..”–Confederation Fleet General Order #1

The destroyer Shigure is the oldest destroyer in the fleet…or so she seems. Equipped with a powerful, new device, the “Late Rain” is chosen for a special, dangerous project. With a young crew and modifications that makes her vessel not what she seems, Commander Leslie Hawkins presses into unknown space to examine structures detected by an Confederation Fleet survey vessel…and discovers that Mankind is not alone.

“Ride of the Late Rain” received an Honorable Mention in the Fall 2012 “Writer’s of the Future Contest.” Judges included Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Orson Scott Card, and Kevin J. Anderson. Its full length sequel, _An Unproven Concept_, is now available via Amazon in both electronic and hard copy, with the “Kraken Edition” consisting of this short story and the novel combined.

“Recommended” Rating from “Right Fans: Sci Fi from the Other Side” Blog

“4.5 / 5” stars from Twisted Sci-Fi.



Deep Space Reflections: Red Galaxy Book 1

by Drew Barnett

Two thousand years ago, scientists experimenting on particles found at the centre of the galaxy unleashed a powerful energy that split the galaxy in two, destroying many planets in the process.

Now, as people had forgotten the terrible events that took place and the only a handful of scientists watching the source of the barrier, a young female space pilot finds herself caught up in interesting times when the singularity starts reacting for the first time since it first appeared.



The Outlaw of Torn

by Edgar Rice Burroughs

The story is set in 13th century England and concerns the fictional outlaw Norman of Torn, who purportedly harried the country during the power struggle between King Henry III and Simon de Montfort. Norman is the supposed son of the Frenchman de Vac, once the king’s fencing master, who has a grudge against his former employer and raises the boy to be a simple, brutal killing machine with a hatred of all things English. His intentions are partially subverted by a priest who befriends Norman and teaches him his letters and chivalry towards women…



Evolution (Evolution Trilogy Book 1)

by Ellie Scott

This first book in Ellie Scott’s Evolution trilogy will appeal to fans of Hunger Games, Divergent, and Twilight. This dystopian series follows Sasha, who is getting ready to turn 18. For the past hundred years, maturation means evolution. Sasha does not know which realm she will evolve into- Demon, Vampire, Shifter, or Witch. As her friends change one by one, she becomes more concerned about her future. All she has known has been the Institute. When her evolution does not go as planned, Sasha is thrown into the dangerous realms on the run for her life.

Author Ellie Scott delivers a dystopian story with equal parts suspense, romance, adventure, and intrigue. The parallels of the future linked to the past make readers think about current societal dynamics.



Time Aerials: A Time Travel Diversion

by Russell Kightley

In these worlds, books change and stories mutate. And minds leak into time. The Extirpators hover, the Squamaflies swarm, and the girl in black knows more than she should.

TIME AERIALS is part time travel, part near-death life-review, part mosaic novel, and part biological horror. There are elements of satire and metafictionâ??a postmodern deus ex machina with a twist.



Unheard Of

by Scott Donnelly

This is a detailed investigation into Grove City, Ohio’s most baffling and perplexing mystery. A case that’s been swept under the rug for years. A case that has affected so many peoples lives that it almost feels wrong for the public to be in the dark about it.

The strange lights, the eerie encounters, the jail time, mental exhaustion and even loss of life this unnerving case includes…it’ll make you question what you believe.

UNHEARD OF is the latest sci-fi thriller from the author of THE HILLIARD HAUNTING and THE SCOUT BROOKS STORY Series. “Being from the area really put me in the story…I could picture almost every scene with extreme detail.” “Fascinating and horrifying.” “Really kept me wanting to read and read!” “I loved it!” “I couldn’t put it down!”

The reviews used for advertising purposes are from volunteer beta-readers before the books release, and are based on the second (of three) drafts.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.