Free literary fiction Kindle books for 10 Aug 18

Burn So Good (Into The Fire Series Book 5)

by J.H. Croix

Life isn’t fair. I know that lesson well.
I said goodbye to Caleb ten years ago.
The boy I once loved is all man now..
As a hotshot firefighter, he’s all about saving others.
Life ripped us apart, stealing more than I could’ve imagined.
Time didn’t heal all of my wounds, and time never let me forget what we once had.
Once again, Caleb comes to my rescue.
This time, I’m running from a different set of demons.
Maybe this time we have a second chance.

Fire burns hot and bright. It can destroy everything.
Just like it destroyed what I had with Ella.
What comes out of the ashes is stronger than ever.
Ella meant everything to me once upon a time.
We were young and foolish when tragedy tore us apart.
She went running, and I was too torn up to chase after her and make it right.
They say time heals all wounds.
Some things never die, and the fire between us burns hotter than ever.
I’ll do anything to keep her safe, to make her mine.

*This is a full-length standalone romance with a guaranteed happily-ever-after.

Death At Presley Park

by Elly Grant

Among a family picnic in Presley Park strides a man with the worst intentions.

In the center of a leafy suburb, everyone is having fun until the unthinkable happens. The man walks into the middle of the picnic ground seemingly unnoticed and, without warning, opens fire into the startled crowd. People collapse, wounded and dying. Those who can, flee for their lives.

Who is this madman and why is he here? And when stakes are high, who will become a hero and who will abandon their friends?

Gatekeeper I – The Finding (Gatekeeper Trilogy series, Book 1) (The Gatekeeper Trilogy)

by R. A. Nelson

One American student. One semester in England. One unexpected mystery…

Studying abroad at Oxford University for a term should be adventure enough in itself, right? That’s what Anna Merritt thinks – and, at first, everything seems to be living up to her safe and reasonable expectations. She has an eccentric tutor, lots of opportunities for soul-searching, and two new friends with whom to enjoy the ride. But then, her tutor tells her that one of her friends is in danger – and disappears. Suddenly, Anna finds herself launched into an international mystery, including a post-term European tour, an enigmatic bowler-hatted stranger, and an adventure far and away beyond her plans…

Interview with the Author

Q: What makes the Gatekeeper trilogy special?
A: Who doesn’t like a bit of adventure, particularly of the European kind? The Gatekeeper series takes the reader through adventure in every form. In the first book, adventure finds us unexpectedly; in the second, we learn the dangers of trying to manufacture adventure for ourselves; in the third, we realize that the truest and biggest adventures always turn out to be rather different than what we’ve planned.

Q: What is the main character like?
A: Anna Miranda Merritt is a girl very much like me – a likeness which is the cause of most of her woes, alas. Her unquenchable thirst for beauty and meaning leads her right into the literary, cultural arms of Oxford University, a place which captures her heart and awakens new dreams in her soul. It is this love of all things British – and, more importantly, the deep and surprising relationships she discovers in England, Ireland, and beyond- that makes her coming of age story uniquely poignant.

Q: Do I have to read the books in order?
A: I have an abiding devotion to order, particularly of the chronological kind. I wrote these books over a period of thirteen years, so they are a kind of authorial autobiography. Ergo, reading the trilogy in order certainly gives some insight, as you can chart the personal and artistic growth of the author along with the main character. That being said…I also have an abiding commitment to personal freedoms. Do what you will; I believe you will enjoy Anna’s story in whatever sequence. 🙂

Q: Why should readers give this series a try?
A: This is a story about beginnings, endings, and all the quietly real drama that occurs in the most ordinary of lives during these “in-between” times. For anyone who’s ever found themselves, lost themselves, or is still searching, these characters have something to say. I wish you joy of the journey!

Gatekeeper trilogy series eBook categories:

– Young adult series
– Free books
– Literary series
– Mystery series
– Europe
– Culture and geography
– School and education
– Coming of age
– Contemporary British
– Fiction – Art and architecture

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.