Free literary fiction Kindle books for 22 Aug 18

After They Go: A Twist on Contemporary Romance

by J Mercer

“…Mercer’s prose is lucid and her themes of redemption and reinvention are resonant…” — Kirkus Reviews
A large family saga set in a coastal tourist town: One sister chained by family tradition. The second stunted by her sister’s shadow. The youngest propelled by desperation.
Gwen is the oldest of four children in the Aaldenberg family, and the one who seems to have it all. She’s also most desperate to escape. Betta, having nursed their dying grandpa for the past three years, is anxious for Gwen to go, so she can finally have reins to the family business. And Esmerelda, viciously determined to follow in Gwen’s footsteps, vies for popularity as a freshman in high school, only to learn she must sell her soul, reputation, and most prized possession for acceptance. 

As their father struggles with retirement and their mother with depression, Gwen discovers the debt her grandfather’s passing left them in–and during a time of year when their coastal town, dependent on tourists, can barely sustain itself. Gwen and their father agree Betta can’t take over the store under such stressful circumstances, not when she’s been carrying the load for so long, and to protect Betta, they play it off that she needs some time to rest.  
When Gwen’s fiancé moves to town, Gwen does her best to resign herself to a local life, while Betta struggles for meaning without the store. In order to carve out a place for herself, Betta must decide to what lengths she’ll go in order to become her own person, and Gwen must decide what’s more important: her sister or her future. Can this family pull through their disappointment, jealousy, and regret? Or will they cling so tightly to their desires that it ruins them?



All But What’s Left

by Carrie Mumford

A childhood marred by tragedy. An uncertain future. One summer that changes everything.

After losing her mother in a tragic accident, Hannah Tatum grows up wanting nothing more than to be a good girl. At twenty-one, she has her whole future planned out. She’ll help her dad with their ranch until her childhood sweetheart finishes university. They’ll get married, take over the ranch, and live happily ever after. But since when do perfect plans ever work out?

At the beginning of the summer, Hannah’s father decides to sell the ranch. He hires Will Ludlow, travelling ranch hand and rodeo star, to help get the property ready. Hannah is determined to stop her dad, keep the ranch, and stay far away from Will and his mysterious past.

But, as new memories of her mother surface, Hannah doubts her mother’s death was purely accidental. With summer coming to an end and everything falling apart around her, can Hannah hold on to the things that matter the most?

A coming of age story about family secrets, first loves, and finding a place in the world, All But What’s Left is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Kerry Lonsdale, and Nicholas Sparks – a haunting novel that asks: What do you do when making yourself happy means breaking someone’s heart – maybe even your own?



We Thought We Knew It All (Invincible Book 2)

by Michelle Lynn

Much can happen in ten years. People change. Life occurs; death ensues. Secrets are kept; truth prevails.

A decade has passed since Callie and Jamie exchanged goodbyes. At the time, they didn’t realize it might be their final exchange, and they’d disappear from each other’s lives. But that’s exactly what happened. Now, Callie finds herself at a crossroads. Caught between her current life and the longing for her past, she must decide what is best for her.

Jamie has worked hard to make something of himself â?? to prove his father wrong. Life as an Army Ranger isn’t easy, but it’s who he is down to his core. When everything starts to crumble, he receives news from home that makes him think about his life. Earlier, he vowed never to set foot in Gulf City again. Now, there’s no reason he can’t go home.

Except there is… And her name is California McCoy.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.