Free literary fiction Kindle books for 02 Sep 18

The Girl in the Sand: A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller (Violet Darger FBI Thriller Book 3)

by L.T. Vargus

Shallow graves scar the desert landscape. A cemetery in the sand. Some of the lost are never found.

Thousands of girls go missing every year in Las Vegas. Taken. Bought and sold. Or worse.

And now the dead are calling.

These lost girls summon FBI Profiler Violet Darger to Sin City — a new case. There are fresh dead to sort through — two bodies burned beyond recognition in the trunk of a sedan — and there’s reason to believe that there are missing girls waiting to be saved.

Rumors swirl that a legendary killer is responsible for these crimes. An escaped prisoner with a personal grudge against Darger — one who wants her and her partner dead. One who disappeared for 20 years.

But the desert is full of deadly secrets — horrors waiting beneath the sand.

If Darger finds the killer in time, the girls will live. If notâ?¦

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final page. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series.

The books in the series can be read in any order, so grab The Girl in the Sand and get started today.

Praise for the Violet Darger series:

“Un-put-downable! I cannot wait for this series to grow. If you love Sandford, Slaughter, Kava, Stelljes and Deaver, you’ll LOVE Vargus & McBain!” — Melody M

“The Violet Darger books are honestly the best detective novels I’ve ever read.” — Devin

“Vargus and McBain have, in Violet Darger, created a character that absolutely stands up with some of the greats — Phillip Marlowe, Dave Robicheaux, Elvis Cole, Charlie Parker, August Dupin, Jack Reacher, Harry Bosch, etc.” — Lucinda E. Snyder

“Wow, just wow! If you like scare-you-half-to-death mystery books this is the one for you. It starts with a bang and just doesn’t stop.” — Ada Lavin

“This series is full of suspense, action, and lots of murder.” — EllenAn

“Violet Darger is a unique, incredible character, and I immensely enjoyed taking this journey with her.” — Cat

“A rush of excitement, twists and turns.” — C. Munger

“Insightful, bloody. Page turner about the corruption of morality and warped thinking patterns.” — Bella from Readingnstuff.com

“Refuses to let go until you have read the last sentence.” — Bloodymummer

“I found myself completely invested in every character, from the authorities to the killer to the victims themselves.” — eden Hudson, author of Revenge of the Bloodslinger

“It’s not a glimpse…it’s a good long look inside the mind of a killer. It’s fast paced, it’s scary, and it’s satisfying.” — Rain

“If you are a fan of Silence of the Lambs, this book is a spiritual successor.” — Amazon customer

“Vargus and McBain spin a fine tale with characters I want to climb inside — but not in a weird way.” — Jeanne Tarrants



The Complete Harvard Classics and Shelf of Fiction

by Charles W. Eliot

The Harvard Universal Classics, originally known as Dr. Eliot’s Five Foot Shelf, is a 51-volume anthology of classic works from world literature, compiled and edited by Harvard University president Charles W. Eliot and first published in 1909.

Eliot had stated in speeches that the elements of a liberal education could be obtained by spending 15 minutes a day reading from a collection of books that could fit on a five-foot shelf. (Originally he had said a three-foot shelf.) The publisher P. F. Collier and Son saw an opportunity and challenged Eliot to make good on this statement by selecting an appropriate collection of works, and the Harvard Classics was the result.

Eliot worked for one year with William A. Neilson, a professor of English; Eliot determined the works to be included and Neilson selected the specific editions and wrote introductory notes. Each volume had 400-450 pages, and the included texts are “so far as possible, entire works or complete segments of the world’s written legacies.” The collection was widely advertised by Collier and Son, in Collier’s and elsewhere, with great success.

Eight years later Eliot added a further 20 volumes as a sub-collection titled ‘The Harvard Classics Shelf of Fiction’, offering some of the greatest novels and short stories of world literature. The exhaustive anthology of the ‘The Harvard Classics’ comprises every major literary figure, philosopher, religion, folklore and historical subject up to the twentieth century.



Estranei (Italian Edition)

by Osaka Dolls

In una casa dell’hinterland milanese vivono quattro estranei: Franco, Alice, Marco e Caterina.

Loro sono la famiglia Spinelli.

Franco ha quarant’anni, fa il netturbino, è un appassionato collezionista di figurine di calciatori e si invaghisce di una giovane prostituta che vede tutte le notti durante il suo periplo lavorativo.

Alice, sua moglie, ha abbandonato il sogno di avere un’esistenza da benestante, si è riciclata come parrucchiera a domicilio e pensa di aver trovato in Guglielmo, un vicino di casa, la rivalsa verso la sua vita di rinunce. 

Caterina ha diciassette anni, è la reginetta della scuola, frequenta maturi uomini in carriera che la riempiono di regali e si innamora, inaspettatamente, di un coetaneo agli antipodi dal suo modo di pensare.

Marco è suo fratello gemello, è un ragazzo esile e impopolare continuamente preso di mira dai bulli del quartiere che lo additano come omosessuale. 

La famiglia Spinelli è una famiglia di estranei, quattro entità che si ignorano nonostante vivano sotto lo stesso tetto. 

Nell’arco di due settimane ognuno di loro vivrà emozioni simili agli altri, sebbene a loro insaputa. 
Attraverso la loro storia i lettori ritroveranno felicità, lutti, redenzioni, drammi, fedeltà e infedeltà che riguardano tutti.
Una storia contemporanea.

———————————————————
Hanno collaborato al progetto ThinkABook prodotto da Koi Press gli autori Massimo Di Gruso e Lorenzo Mazzoni sotto il nome Osaka Dolls. 

Prefazione di Elena Mearini
Postfazione della Dott.ssa Valentina Stirone (Psicologa psicoterapeuta)
 



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.