Free literary fiction Kindle books for 15 Sep 18

Hypnosis: A Return To The Past (2018 Revised Version)

by Maria Inês Rebelo

Marcus Belling is a world-famous hypnotist. For the past 20 years, many exclusive clients have benefited from his skills and desire to help people.
However, everything changes when a mysterious woman named Anne Pauline Roux knocks on his door. She holds a rare power when hypnotized, which will affect both their lives in ways they could never imagine. Her unique power is so strong that it doesn’t stay secret for long. Marcus’ archrival and fellow hypnotist, Josef Salvaterra, has been looking for a way to shut down Marcus’ business for years. Pauline may just give him the opportunity he’s been waiting for. If he can work this to his advantage, he could be recognised as the greatest hypnotist the world has ever seen. With such a prize at stake, is there anything he’s not prepared to do?

Reading this book is a hypnotic process that will lead you to question the meaning of destiny and truth, and restore faith in our ability to find the good, even when we are not looking for it.

This is a 2018 revised edition.



The Island Legacy

by Ruth Saberton

From Amazon Bestselling author Ruth Saberton comes THE ISLAND LEGACY – a story of love, betrayal and family secrets – set in beautiful Cornwall. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Rosamunde Pilcher and Poldark.

Ness Penwellyn always struggled to feel settled and now her life has taken an unexpected turn; she is the heir to the ancestral family home in England. Ness exchanges her American life for a castle set on a Cornish island and swaps solitude for newly discovered relatives – some more pleased to learn of her existence than others.

Inheriting vast debts alongside the castle, it isn’t long before Ness encounters property developer, Max Reynard. Wealthy and wickedly handsome, Max is accustomed to getting his own way. His assumption she’ll sell to him only makes Ness more determined to find the strength to go it alone – even as bitter cousins plot and circumstances spiral out of control.

Before long Ness and Max are locked in a battle of wills as the castle’s past and present collide in the fight to preserve its future. Soon Ness must decide who she can trust with both the island legacy and her heartâ?¦

THE ISLAND LEGACY is captivating blend of romance, mystery and courage played out against the breath taking beauty of Cornwall’s dramatic coastline.

“The new Poldark” Cornish Guardian
“Compulsive Read” Closer magazine



All Debts, Public And Private: The 1st Billy Keene Book (The Billy Keene Stories)

by Chad Sanborn

How far will you go when betrayed by people you thought you knew?

An inexperienced sheriff working his first kidnapping. A lottery-winning grandmother determined to handle things in her own savage way. And the ruthless party-girl in the middle of it all.

Sheriff Billy Keene is in way over his head. He knows it and so does everyone else in the small town of Caulfield. So when the spoiled granddaughter of a local-lottery winner is kidnapped, everyone is telling Billy how to do his job. Or, worse, not telling him anything at all.

Newly-rich Arlita Hardy’s certainly not saying much and why should she?

Rather than leave her granddaughter’s life in the hand’s of a lawman as green as Billy, Arlita decides to use her money and a local thug to rescue her granddaughter â?? and punish the kidnappers.

And in the middle of it all: Sharla Ricketts.

As usual, she’s drinking and drugging, playing one side against the other and lying to the liars. But Sharla’s life has gotten out of hand since we last saw her in Getaway. She doesn’t realize that this time all her craziness may cost her more than she’s willing to pay.

With time running out and the meth-head kidnappers growing more brutal each day, Billy scrambles to be the first to find Arlita’s missing granddaughter. But Billy’s always a step behind Arlitaâ?¦and his next step might just get him killed.

With All Debts, Public And Private, the first crime novel in The Billy Keene Stories, award-winning crime fiction author Chad Sanborn gives readers a welcome addition to the American crime fiction tradition of Elmore Leonard, Jim Thompson and Joe R. Lansdale.

Get All Debts, Public And Private to take the first wild ride in this twisting, darkly wry and riveting series!

WHAT AMAZON READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT ALL DEBTS, PUBLIC AND PRIVATE:

“The tale is twisted, funny and most important, HUMAN”

“Twists and turns you don’t see coming”

“â?¦like a mashup of a Jim Thompson novel with a John Hiatt songâ?¦cunning, funny, human, and brutal, often at the exact same time”

“I definitely stayed up too late several nights just to read â??one more chapter'”

“(Billy Keene) is not what one would expect as sheriffâ?¦He’s not macho, but he sure is human”

“What a fun book! Really enjoyable read. Give this book a try”

“(Billy Keene) is no super-sleuth or clichéd â??plays by his own rules’ tough guy, and his humanity is what makes us root for him all the more”

“I didn’t want to put it down”

“I read fiction books with actionâ?¦authors like Vince Flynn, David Baldacci, James Patterson, Patricia Cornwall( Kay Scarpita series),Tom Clancy and othersâ?¦.I will be a fan of the Billy Keene series and anything else Mr. Chad Sanborn choses to gift us with”

PRAISE FOR CHAD SANBORN:

Chad’s writing is “exceptionally light on its feet, striking exactly the right note without appearing to try too hard.” â?? Michael Harvey, author of The Chicago Way and We All Fall Down

“â?¦strong voice, assured proseâ?¦” â?? Marcus Sakey, author of The Brilliance Trilogy and The Blade Itself



Our Children, Our Teachers

by Michael Bailey

Children are often our greatest teachers, but what happens if the lesson is too heavy to hold? In OUR CHILDREN, OUR TEACHERS, a standalone novelette by Michael Bailey, Bram Stoker Award winning editor of THE LIBRARY OF THE DEAD, a high school is taken hostage by a gathering of unlikely students trying to teach the world a new lesson … a foreshadowing, perhaps, to darker times ahead for the American education system, if gun control is not addressed properly.



Missing Thread (The Georgia Series Book 3)

by June V. Bourgo

On a trip to Houston, Charles Dixon disappears, taking Sean on a journey to Texas in search of his wife.

An accident propels Georgia into a battle that not only threatens her survival, but also stretches the very fiber that holds her family together. Can Georgia overcome the elements threatening to destroy her family – and if not, can she adapt to the changes forced upon them and keep their love intact?

Missing Thread is the third novel in June V. Bourgo’s Georgia Series – a story of a life-changing event, and a mental battle that challenges the core of family strength and love.



A Dangerous Ambition

by Michele Harden

It’s 1925, the dawn of the Age of Modernism, an exciting time to be an architect…unless you happen to be a woman. But Meagan Callahan is determined. Never one afraid to go against the tide, she does what she has to, though the price of success comes high. A marriage of convenience. Blackmail. A failed seduction. Withholding evidence of a crime. Was it worth it? This is her story.



AFON

by Robert Partridge

Peter Grainger, 43 – failed writer, failed teacher, failed husband, failed everything – decides to gamble the last of his money on a final attempt to produce that elusive second novel. He takes a lease on a cottage in a remote Welsh valley, hoping to find the peace and quiet that he thinks he needs. Instead he becomes drawn into the lives of the people that own and work on the Afon estate. As he gets to know Helen Miller, the wife of the owner, and as her story too unfolds, Grainger is forced to confront the true nature of his relationship with Alan and Ann, the married couple who have been his closest friends since their university days. As these two apparently separate worlds converge, Grainger begins to appreciate the wild beauty of the Welsh river valley – and the threat posed to it all by one of the Afon estate’s own employees. Over this one summer, lives take new directions, and Grainger, much to his surprise, plays a leading role in those changes. Through it all runs the lovely river Athi, its changing moods reflecting the experiences of those that inhabit the valley.

Lots of readers would consider this to be literary fiction. The author makes no such claim but does suggest that if you like to have action, excitement and drama on every page then you should download something else.



The Graves of the Nephilim

by J.L. Robins

Is it just her dementia? Or is the family’s darkest, strangest secret finally finding its way to light? After a doctor’s visit forces Jonathan to face his own mortality, his patience with his mother’s long hidden, carefully guarded wound begins to shorten and he presses her for more than riddles and clues. But is she too far gone? Or perhaps she was crazy all along….



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.