Free mystery and thriller Kindle books for 01 Oct 18

Dark Service (Detective Amanda Lacey Book 4)

by Linda Coles

The dark web can satisfy any perversion, but two detectives might just pull the plugâ?¦

Taylor never felt the blade pressed to her scalp. She wakes frightened and alone in an unfamiliar hotel room with a near shaved head and a warningâ?¦ tell no one.

As detectives Amanda Lacey and Jack Rutherford investigate, they venture deep into the fetish-fueled underbelly of the dark web. The traumatized woman is only the latest victim in a decade-long string of disturbingâ??and intensely personalâ??thefts.

To take down a perverted black market, they’ll go undercover. But just when justice seems within reach, an unexpected event sends their sting operation spiraling out of control. Their only chance at catching the culprits lies with a local reporterâ?¦ and a sex scandal that could ruin them all.

Dark Service is the skin-crawling fourth novel in the Detective Amanda Lacey mystery series. If you like sexual intrigue, modern-day suspense, and exploring technology’s dark side, then you’ll love this cutting edge thriller from international bestselling author Linda Coles.

Buy Dark Service to lose yourself in the darkest corners of your imagination today.

Oh this was such fun to research! There are fetishes of anything you can imagine, some pretty gross and weird, some you’d wonder just how someone would get something from it – like fixating on feet, for instance. Each to their own eh?

Enter the dark web and all that it has for sale. Add in a fetish or two and a couple of detectives and you’ve got the makings of a fascinating story you won’t want to put down.

I introduce a couple of great new characters in here that I hope to include again in another book ¬- and I think you’ll agree at the end, you’ll want to read more of them too. They’ll have their own tales to tell I’m sure.



Inimicus (The 11th Percent Series Book 4)

by T.H. Morris

Jonah knows that Inimicus is in the game.

His unseen enemy is prowling through the shadows, making moves that no one can predict or prevent. And he’s armed with a weapon more dangerous than any ethereal blade or staff: anonymity.

Jonah thought he had ventured into uncharted waters before, but the past is nothing compared to this.

Loyalties will be tested, and people will lose sight of what’s truly important. The line between friend and enemy will blur. And the question in everyone’s mind is the same one that holds the difference between victory and downfall.

Who can you trust?

Inimicus is a standalone novel and can be enjoyed even if you haven’t read other books in the series.



The Reserve

by Jordon Greene

“[It’s] intense… Make no mistake about it, Greene has an infectious style, paints a vivid picture and manages to lure in the reading audience from the initial paragraphs until the final bone chilling conclusion.” (Dave Gammon, HorrorNews.net)

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

SOME PLACES WERE MEANT TO BE FORGOTTEN

Cooper Bay has dreamed his whole life of acting. So when his brother Nick surprises him with a leading role in a B-horror movie, Cooper can’t say no.

The only catch is the team’s filming location is off-limits to the public. Yet, that doesn’t sway film director, Luca Sanchez. He’s set on trespassing North Brother Island, an abandoned isle in the middle of New York City set aside as an avian reserve for a bird that no longer graces its shores.

Ready to make a movie, Cooper and his new film mates cross the East River to shoot their scenes among the restricted island’s decaying ruins. But a day into production fellow actor, Riley Cannon, goes missing, leaving only a smear of blood on a nearby tree.

Cooper swears he heard something in the woods before Riley went missing, but no one believes him. Once the screams begin to rise, Cooper wishes he had never signed up for this real life horror story.



Kind Nepenthe

by Matthew V. Brockmeyer

“Riveting. Matthew V. Brockmeyer’s debut is country noir at its finest. Stephen King fans may have finally found a new favorite author in this haunting novel.” —Best Thrillers

Rebecca thought she’d find a hippie paradise when she moved to the desolate back hills of Humboldt County. A place to commune with nature and teach her five-year-old daughter how to live off the land. Instead, she discovered a nightmare.

Coyote is a washed-up pot grower. Strung out on pills and dealing with dropping prices and looming legalization, he wonders if it’s even worth it anymore.

Diesel Dan abandoned his son for a life of methamphetamine and prison. Now he wants to make amends. He’s going to be a grandfather. But his son is on the same dark road of drugs and violence that once consumed him.

These characters will come together in an explosive ending that will leave you stunned and breathless. But more than just a gripping horror novel, Kind Nepenthe is a deep examination into the nature of love and greed, lost ideals, and the essence of evil in one of the last frontiers of the American West.



As Sick As Our Secrets (Sophie Brown Book 2)

by Diane Ezzard

We all keep secrets, don’t we?

Sophie used to be fearful, with a troubled past. Now, she’s a confident young woman helping others turn their lives around –
or is she?

A nasty surprise awaits her after the funeral of a friend and she soon finds out that nothing is as it seems.

Caught up in the dark world of gangsters and villains in the heart of Manchester she attempts to find Cassie’s killer. Following a trail of lies, she gets so wrapped up delving into the lives of others she doesn’t notice her own life falling apart, back into the grips of addiction.

Can romance blossom for Sophie after all the mistakes she has made in the past, or will her only comfort be drink? Things never end up the way she intends.

Fans of Rachel Abbott, Casey Kelleher and Mark Edwards will be gripped by this tense, addictive series with its twists and turns.

Grab your copy now.

Book 2 in the Sophie Brown series.

What others Amazon readers are saying:-

– exquisite page turner

– this book kept me engaged from beginning to end.

– British writing at its best.



Turning the table

by Indrani Talukdar

Forced child marriages are still part of the patriarchal society in India despite government ruling to the contrary. A young man who wishes to walk out of his child marriage finds himself overwhelmed with societal pressures. The question is: will he be able to wrench himself free of the shackles of such a deeply-rooted tradition? There is a twist to the tale even as the main protagonist of the story finds himself struggling against all odds…



Stubble Beards: A mystery novella

by Aron Zeh

Twenty years ago, they were here on holiday. Now something eerie has drawn the four of them back. And they soon realise that the grave danger of their childhoods still lurks – after all those years. The four set out to investigate.
Gradually, they slip back further and further into their childhood selves. Their understanding of the danger becomes clearer, their purpose obvious. Their adult problems fade into the background. Soon, for the four of them, no doubts remain.
But is there really any danger? Only they can see it. Why would it wait for them patiently for twenty years? Could they be making up the whole story? What if their minds are playing a trick on them to distract them from the real problems in their lives? Then again, why should all four of them make up the same story at the same time? Why should they all see the same evil? Why should they all be convinced that this is the last chance to stop it?



Murder on a Sunday Morning

by E.K. Wilson

A murdered man with a list of names in his hands. An ancient ideal is rediscovered. It could change the world. Or kill the innocent.
One quiet morning in Denmark, Lisa Bendsen finds the body of a brutally murdered man. Though she is far from home, she becomes involved in the murder mystery, when she discovers a link to a person from her past, whom she is eager to find. The police are not interested in answering her questions, so Lisa Bendsen, who has a nose for mystery, decides to investigate on her own. She discovers that a new interpretation of an ancient ideal is emerging from Rome, weaving its way through Berlin, and costing lives in Copenhagen. Together with a small group of friends, Lisa Bendsen finds clues of the far reaching plans of a secret society. She is now in possession of dangerous knowledge. Knowledge is power. Some people will kill for it.
A fast paced mystery, with suspense and unexpected twists that will leave you wondering at every turn as the story unfolds from Copenhagen to London. This is the 3rd book in the Bendsen and Gundersen series.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.