Free humour Kindle books for 22 Oct 18

When Your Carriage Turns Back Into a Pumpkin: A Humorous Look at Life After 50 for Women

by Deanna Gunning

When Your Carriage Turns Back into a Pumpkin: A Humorous Look at Life After 50 for Women is a quirky book designed to inform as well as entertain. Women of all ages will benefit from this book and from the open and honest insights into what we might face on our journey of aging. Many of these things are not openly talked about amongst women so many of us don’t know what we might expect or how we might deal with those things should they arise. These things include: Empty nest, Caring for elderly parents, a change in the rules of engagement, our marriage, menopause, size matters, dry, itchy and paper thin skin, …and the list goes on. Humor makes the journey easier and helps us to see the funny side of life! 



Catastrophic Signs and Wonders: A Book of Revelations

by Stuffy Seagirt

I am a ghost writer.

I died on December 15, 2011, at the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas (long before the flood) after a punishing battle with esophageal cancerâ??the same disease that killed my father. I was 62.

In life, I was a wit, a charmer, and a troublemaker. I was a man of insatiable appetitesâ??for cigarettes, for scotch, for company, for great writing, and, above all, for conversation. One of my books was Letters to a Young Contrarian, and that word contrarian describes my approach to the desirability of not quite fitting in.

I was a slashing polemicist in the tradition of Thomas Paine and George Orwell who trained his sights on targets as various as Henry Kissinger, the British monarchy, Mother Teresa, the Bible, and God. I wrote a best-seller attacking religious belief and all organized religions. Believe itâ??or notâ??I dismayed my former comrades on the left by enthusiastically supporting the American-led war in Iraq.

In 1991, my column was due early one afternoon. Pre-lunch canisters of scotch were followed by a couple of glasses of wine during the luncheon and a similar quantity of post-meal cognac. That was my intake. After stumbling back to my office, I fell into a rickety table and, with an old Olivetti, a symphony of clacking produced a 1,000-word column of near perfection in under half an hour.

There was no subject too big or too small for me. Over two decades I traveled to just about every hot spot you can think of. I also subjected myself to any manner of humiliation or discomfort in the name of my column. I once set out on a mission to break the most niggling laws still on the books in New York City. One such decree forbade riding a bicycle with your feet off the pedals. The photograph that ran with my column showed me sailing a small bike through Central Park with my legs in the air. I looked like something out of the Moscow Circus! When I embarked on a cause of self-improvement for a three-part series, I subjected himself to myriad treatments to improve my dental area and other dark regions.

Here’s my Hitch-22:

In death, I was given the opportunity to interview one of God’s angels. Your atheist is now a true believer! Honest to God! When I was alive, I thought God was only an undigested bit of beef, a blot of mustard, a crumb of cheese, a fragment of underdone potato. God is actually much greater than anyone suspects. While the world waits for Harry Houdini to come back, I’m back right now. I’ve come to tell you what’s REALLY going on in the world. There’s so much you can’t see!

Open Access Policy

You are free to share, copy, or redistribute the materials in this text in any medium or format. You are free to adapt, reuse, modify, transform, or build upon the materials in this text for any purpose whatsoever.



Trivia Night: Answers You Wished You Knew: Volume II

by Greg Smrdel

This is much more than just a trivia book. It can also be used as a game to play with family and friends on a game night or a rainy day. Much the same as Volume 1, Volume 2 contains questions that are easy, some are hard, but all are fun!

Become the trivia champ on your block with this book!



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.