Free fantasy Kindle books for 23 Oct 18

Sand and Storm (Legendary Magic Book 1)

by Stella Dorthwany

A magical super-weapon. A deadly cult. An arranged marriage that could destroy the world.

Faryn Montphish is on track to graduate with honors from the Academy of Magicâ??until her dream internship blows up in her face. She thought she’d been recruited to excavate ruins in the enchanted Caladoner desert. Instead, she’s expected to rob a temple and steal the Ring of Twelve, an artifact with the power to control natural disasters. It’s also the only thing standing between the explorers and a cult of mages raising a storm that will destroy the world’s magicâ??and usher in a new order forged in forbidden blood arts.

Even if Faryn manages to avoid the temple’s traps and retrieve the ring, wielding it will require a mage of unique and terrible ability. Someone like Faryn’s cousin Cora.

Cora thinks she’s going on her honeymoon until her husband reveals their marriage is a sham and forces her to join the temple expedition. There, the magical bond legalizing their marriage mingles with the desert’s own enchantment and stirs Cora’s slumbering powers to life. Cora has the strength to conquer the Ringâ??but only if she reconciles her relationship with the husband who has rejected her.

Facing the end of the world, Faryn and Cora must test the limits of courage and sacrificeâ??or face the destruction of everything they love.

Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik or Emily R. King, Sand and Storm will sweep you away on an adventure of lush romance, dazzling magic, and ultimate sacrifice.



Where the Forest meets the Sea

by Joshua Waits

Caleb is spending the summer before 8th grade in the middle of nowhere, with his father who he hasn’t seen in years and a new family he’s never met. But soon he finds that the wild expanses of Oregon have stranger things than step-siblings, and life isn’t always what it seems.



Philanthropy

by R. P. McGuirk

Philanthropy tells the story of a world ruled by those who know the the truth of the afterlife, who understand the metaphysics of reality, and orchestrate society around this knowledge. It explores the nature and consequences of a meritocratic society ruled by de facto gods, through the eyes of the assassin Milem Gantilau who accidentally joins their ranks and begins to peel back hidden layers of society.



Fade (The Faders Series Book 1)

by E. G. Bateman

What is this new power?
Will she be able to control it?

Jenna thinks she’s a normal fifteen year old girl. She loves her father, spending time with friends, and bookstores and Cheetos. She doesn’t see the danger.

Who is watching her?

Before she can figure out who the boy with the hazel eyes is and why he seems to be following her, tragedy strikes. In an instant, her father is gone. She’s alone.

But is she?��

As the mysteries of her true identity are revealed, everything she knows is turned upside-down. Should she work for her father’s colleagues in Colorado? Can they be trusted? Will they help her find her father’s killer?

You’ll love this paranormal thriller because there are so many twists and turns.â?¨â?¨

Get it now.



Labyrinth of Shadows: A Greek Mythology Retelling

by Kyla Stone

A hero sworn to slay the monster. A princess determined to save it. But only one can live… 
They call me the cursed princess. For seven years, I’ve watched helplessly as my father, the tyrant king of Crete, sacrifices fourteen Athenian tributes to the monster–my brother, the Minotaur.
 
When the queen offers me a deadly bargain, I seize the chance to alter my fate, to finally break the curse, rescue my brother, and transform him into his human form. But is there any humanity left in him to save? Or will he hunt me, too?
 
Either way, I must enter the Labyrinth myself, where darkness reigns and terror lurks–for my brother isn’t the only creature who stalks the perilous maze. 
 
To survive, I’ll need the help of this year’s tributes–especially brave, heroic Theseus. Determined to free his people from the blood tithe, Theseus vows to slay the monster, no matter the cost.  
 
But I won’t let that happen. 
 
And I can’t let myself fall for Theseus’s charms, either. Because we can’t both win. My quest may cost me everything, including my heart… 
 
To save my brother, Theseus must die.
 
And I Darken meets Everneath in this lush historical fantasy adventure based on Greek mythology. Perfect for fans of myths and legends, alternative histories, flawed and conflicted characters, and strong female heroines. 
 
*Rated PG-13 for moderate, non-gory violence. No foul language and no steamy scenes.*
 
“I loved this re-telling, maybe more than the original myth!” -Amazon reviewer
 
“One action-packed, nail-biting, heart-pounding, pulse-racing, page-turning delight that keeps you on your toes and eyes glued to the pages!” -Amazon reviewer
 
“Drama, suspense and danger run rampant as tension spirals with every terror-filled step the characters take.” -Goodreads reviewer
 
“Beautifully written and more than imaginative. I loved it.” -Amazon reviewer
 
“A captivating re-telling of the Theseus and the Minotaur myth.” -Amazon reviewer
 
“From the beginning, I was hooked and didn’t want to stop reading. If you love historical mythologies you’ll love this one.” -Amazon reviewer
 
“You will love this fantasy read from the first page to the last. You won’t want to put this book down.” -Goodreads reviewer
 
“For those who love Greek mythology, Stone takes a well-known myth and spins it into a dark, haunting and beautiful story filled with characters with real flaws, the greatest love story, and brief glances into other myths that are slowly spinning into existence. This plot-driven story keeps you guessing right to the last sentence!” -Goodreads reviewer
 
 “Gritty and haunting and will linger in your mind for days.” -Amazon reviewer
 
“Five stars! The author sticks true to Greek mythology and has amazing characters and an amazing story to show for it. Well-researched and action-packed!” -Amazon reviewer
 
“I highly recommend this book for those who love mythology.” -Goodreads reviewer

 
I loved the way this myth was turned on its head, I loved the way that we are taken into the Labyrinth and get to know the other tributes sent there other than Theseus…I loved everything about this book!” -Amazon reviewer

“This book blew me away!” -Amazon reviewer
 
“This story, and Ariadne’s personal journey, is extremely engrossing (I read it in one day) and full of action, suspense, and compassion.” -Amazon reviewer
 
“A captivating tale of the human spirit and what people are capable of; good and evil. I would highly recommend this book to ANYBODY!” -Goodreads reviewer



Cassie: Black Sand

by M.S. Murray

All I’ve ever wanted was a boring life. I’ve grown up with the things that go bump in the night, I’ve witnessed the unexplainable, and I’ve had my fill of excitement for a lifetime.
It sounds crazy but being an accountant or something mundane and regular was my dream… until it wasn’t.
Now I’m neck deep in everything I tried so hard not to be.
They killed my parents and took my sister Jess, I don’t know who â??they’ are yet, but I’ll find out, and when I do, they’ll wish I’d stuck to my boring life plan.
There’s nothing I won’t do for Jess. I’d even seek the help of Gabriel, Vampire Lord of Florida.
Three words perfectly describe Gabriel:
Handsome
Deadly
Expressionless
He’s not the type of monster anyone would seek out for help, but he’s my only hope if I ever want to see my little sister again.



The Sudden World (Yesterday’s Magic Book 1)

by Brian Olsen

The world before is coming back…

Yesterday, the world was magic. Yesterday, the world was at war. Yesterday, the world’s greatest sorcerers rewrote reality in a desperate effort to stop the Common King, the most powerful mage the world had ever known, who rained death and destruction upon the land and threatened all magical creatures with extinction.

Today, Chris Armstrong is an ace student, a lacrosse hero, and a drama club superstar. He’s the golden boy of Charlesville Academy and life is perfect. That’s about to change.

Chris has a nightmare of something monstrous, something evil, something waiting. He wakes, shaken, to a dangerous new ability he can’t control. Chris is a logomancer, able to manipulate awesome magic with the power of one single word.

He’ll have to learn to control this word fast, because he’s not the only logomancer in town. His friends and teachers awake to powers of their own, but only Chris can protect them from the return of evil magic from the world before. The Common King is clawing his way back into reality, seeking to rule our world as cruelly as he did the last…and hiding behind the face of someone Chris loves.

By the night of Chris’s seventeenth birthday, he’ll learn that his perfect life is a terrible lie. And the Common King is closer than he thinksâ?¦

THE SUDDEN WORLD is a young adult contemporary fantasy. If you like interesting diverse characters, harrowing complex villains, and thrilling magical adventures, you’ll love the Yesterday’s Magic trilogy.

Chris’s exploration of his powers and battle against the Common King continue in THE FLOATING ROOM and conclude in THE COMMON KING, but you can start his adventure right now!

Scroll up and download now!



The Death of Breeston: Volume One of the Yellow Hand Series

by Malachi Stevens

Breeston. The jewel the Grand Guild, a city now in decay. It’s citizens suffer, so a rebellion is afoot. An underground league named the Yellow Hand is moving in, and through circumstance, two brothers are stuck between them. Doing the unthinkable to survive?



Convocation (Tremontaine Season 2 Episode 1)

by Ellen Kushner

Swordplay, scandal, and sexâ??welcome to the world of Tremontaine, a glittering new entry in Ellen Kushner’s classic Riverside series.

This is the 1st episode in the second season of Tremontaine, a 13-episode serial from Serial Box Publishing. This episode written by Ellen Kushner.

All eyes are on Duchess Diane Tremontaine at the Convocation, an annual soiree that opens the Council of Lords. With her mad husband exiled to the country, Diane is on the hunt for a new lover and better fortunes. But the path to powerâ??and revengeâ??is never without obstacles.

Welcome to Tremontaine, where ambition, love affairs, and rivalries dance with deadly results. A Duchess whose beauty is matched only by her cunning; a handsome young scholar with more passion than sense; a foreigner in a playground of swordplay and secrets; and a mathematical genius whose discoveries herald revolution when games of politics begin, no one is safe. Keep your wit as sharp as your steel in this world where politics is everything, and outcasts are the tastemakers.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.