Free literary fiction Kindle books for 23 Oct 18

Peony Red: A Contemporary Romance Novel (The Granite Harbor Series Book 1)

by J. Lynn Bailey

Three years ago, Alex Fisher lost her husband and since then, she hasn’t been able to find her stride.

She’s out of a job, out of time, and running on fumes

When she receives a personal invitation to visit the picturesque town of Granite Harbor, Maine, she jumps at the chance to start fresh.

Ë?Ë?Ë? For game warden Eli Young, life is simpler when he’s exploring the back roads of Maine.

In the north woods, he doesn’t have to deal with town politics or his soon-to-be ex-wife. But a chance meeting with a brokenhearted newcomer leaves him tangled. He should walk away-except, now that he’s met her, he can’t turn back.

Ë?Ë?Ë? When a young woman goes missing in town, tensions rise, and everyone becomes a suspect.

Eli doesn’t think things can get any more complicated, until a picture of Alex is discovered at a gruesome crime scene.

In a town where trust is hard to come by and ghosts from the past haunt its citizens in the broad light of day, the question isn’t whether Eli and Alex can save what’s left of their hearts, but whether they’ll live to see tomorrow.

Ë?Ë?Ë? An emotional read with a beautiful ending.

Fans of Devney Perry, Kristen Ashley, Harper Sloan with love the first installment of the The Granite Harbor Series.

Note to readers, each book can be read as a stand alone.

Scroll up and grab a copy of Peony Red today.



Don Quixote

by Miguel Cervantes

Contains Active Table of Contents (HTML) and â??in the end of book include a bonus link to the free audiobook.

Don Quixote, errant knight and sane madman, with the company of his faithful squire and wise fool, Sancho Panza, together roam the world and haunt readers’ imaginations as they have for nearly four hundred years.



The Outsider: A Refugee Journey toward Freedom

by Matej Valuch

What does it mean to be shot by an invisible bullet? To have scars on your heart no one can see? This is the reality for Touma, a man left at the edge of the ocean, at the edge of life.

A former English teacher from Syria, he now finds himself alone on a beach in Valencia. Left in limbo while awaiting a final decision on his asylum application, Touma attempts to tell the story ofâ??and to himself understandâ??what has transpired to bring him to this point.

Love and hate, harmony and emptiness, happiness and despairâ??Touma has experienced all this and more on his strange and traumatic journey to Europe. Following the disappearance of his family and his own kidnapping at the hands of fanatics, he and his cousin left Syria seeking peace and freedom. Witnessing murders and rapes, and often reduced to fighting for their lives, the two refugees arrive in Spain only to discover something quite different to what they sought.

THE OUTSIDER is a philosophical novel based on real events. It tells the journey of one refugee, in the voice of an ordinary man. This story is also a meditation on humanity, personal freedom, ego, and peace.

The publication is a non-profit project. We donate all royalties from the sales of The Outsider to the International Committee of the Red Cross, helping to protect the victims of international and internal armed conflicts, including prisoners and refugees. Thank you for supporting a good cause with your purchase.



School for Revolutionaries

by Bronk Jablonski

A middle-aged English teacher joins an eccentic group of strangers who travel to Pyongyang, North Korea to become the first foreigners to study Korean language at Mansu University of Education.

Set against the backdrop of nuclear tensions between the United States and the DPRK in the summer of 2017, the group is forced to confront not only a constant stream of political propaganda and indoctrination but their own prejudices, fears and personal shortcomings as well.

School for Revolutionaries offers an intimate glimpse into daily life and education in the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea through the eyes of characters of varying ages, nationalities, backgrounds and political affiliations as personal grievances threaten to tear the group apart.



Bladesong: 1151 in the Holy Land (The Troubadours Quartet Book 2)

by Jean Gill

Book 2 of the multi-award-winning epic Historical Fiction series The Troubadours Quartet
‘Wonderful. If you love historical adventure and romance, you must pick up this series!’Autumn Birt, The Rise of the Fifth Order
1151: the Holy Land, where one book is worth more than a man’s life
   Estela, the troubadour, is following the destiny of her beautiful voice. Dragonetz, her passionate knight, has a dangerous mission to fulfill. Divided by the times they love in, they fight to be together.
   Imprisoned in Damascus, Dragonetz suffers the mind games inflicted by his anonymous enemies, as he is forced to remember the traumatic events of the crusade, two years earlier. His military prowess is as valuable and dangerous to the balance of power as the priceless Torah he has to deliver to Jerusalem, and the key players want Dragonetz riding with them – or dead.
   Instead of remaining safely at home, Estela is desperate to rescue Dragonetz at all costs. She sets out for the Holy Land, never realising that the person she thinks will be her knight’s saviour might actually be his doom. Can Estela get him out alive, despite Nur-ad-Din, the Muslim Atabeg; Mélisende, the Queen of Jerusalem; and an avenger from the past? Will she still want to, when she knows what they’ve done to him?
  Once more, ‘the master of historical intrigue’ whirls the reader off into medieval mayhem. Jean Gill’s details of crusading strategy and riding a camel are as convincing as the pangs of medieval childbirth. She brought medieval France to life in Song at Dawn; now she adds 12th century Damascus and Jerusalem with equal aplomb.
‘A Masterpiece. A Historical Feast.’ C M T Stibbe, Chasing Pharoahs

Historical Novel Society Editor’s Choice
Winner of the Global Ebooks Award for Best Historical Fiction
Finalist in the Wishing Shelf Awards and the Chaucer Awards
Discovered Diamond Award
Readers’ Favorite 5* Award
‘I like my historical romance heavy on the history, light on the romance, with a strong cupful of action and adventure thrown in. When an author can get all of the elements in exactly the right proportions, we are probably talking bestseller. In Bladesong we have a bestseller.’ Ray Simmons for Readers’ Favorite



An Accidental Kidnapping

by Stevie Marchant

Stanley Wilde had a secret. He always wanted to kidnap someone, and often fantasized about such pleasures… But now his fantasies have become a reality.
What do you do when you wake up after work to find yourself in a different country? No, Jack Daemon didn’t know either.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.