Free literary fiction Kindle books for 05 Nov 18

Mom’s Cherry Pie

by Andrew Ewing

A son’s return home to find a father he doesn’t recognize and a house that isn’t home…



Dream City and Other Stories

by Cristian Mihai

I keep a small revolver tucked under my pillow. Every morning, I wake up and grab the little device and turn it on all sides. I inspect it as if its power of destruction could be easily comprehended.
Sometimes I press the barrel to my right temple. My index finger curled around the trigger, I close my eyes and count to ten. Of course, the gun’s never loaded.
Nevertheless, it makes you think.
You see, this is the only power we have. True freedom, as I like to say, comes from the realization that you can kill yourself any time you want.
Sunlight slipping through the heavy curtains, casting red dots on the walls, I can feel my blood boiling inside my body. My heart beats like a fist inside my chest; the metallic coolness of the gun infects my skin.
Loaded or not, it doesn’t matter.
I’m ready to pull the trigger. I want to see God and ask Him a million questions. I press the gun to my chest and take a deep breath. “This is not my life.”
We all die and there’s nothing terrifying or great about it.
“This isn’t a life worth living.”
The gun pressed hard against my chest, right where the heart should be, I pull the trigger. That’s when I can open my eyes. That’s when I can smile. When I can feel alive just because I could’ve and yet I didn’t.
Every morning I wake up and die.



A Boy Named Thomas: The Story of a Boy, a Donkey, and an Immigrant’s Struggle for Survival

by Daniel Washle

Thomas Smith and his family have traveled from their home in South Scalia to seek medical care for his sister. It’s supposed to make everything better. What they discover is that their new home in North Scalia holds danger and the deepest kind of intolerance.

It starts when Thomas is only seven. His younger sister, Grace, gets a simple cough. In impoverished South Scalia, advanced medical care is scarce, and Grace’s cough soon turns into a deadly infection. There is no help for her in South Scalia.

Grace’s only hope lies across the desert in prosperous North Scalia. Thomas’s parents know that they have to do everything they can for their daughter. Surely the inhabitants of North Scalia will not deny a four-year-old girl medical care.

With the help of their beloved donkey, Grandma Jan, the Smiths set off across the desert. Their church and community have given all they can to help the Smiths on their quest. Will it be enough?

The Smith family’s experiences have eerie similarities to the current political climate in the United States. Daniel Washle’s cautionary fable reveals the ugly underside of a society that claims to be free and just.



Love and Sex in the Shadow of the Sierra Madre

by Andrew Lemon

Love and Sex in the Shadow of the Sierra Madre is the first original publication by Andrew S. Lemon. A collection of short stories, essays, and poems, the book stands as both a critique of and an homage to the society of Monterrey and the surrounding region of Mexico. The author’s modern writing style and use of multiple languages (English, Spanish and Spanglish) provide a unique snapshot of modern Mexican culture.



The Beast In Me

by Joseph Hannay

1959, somewhere in Mitteleuropa.  A young actuary – intelligent, if rather passive – is forced by his boss to undergo a programme of self-improvement with the maverick Doctor Klamm. Klamm’s Psycholiberum methodology – part neo-Freudian psychoanalysis, part haphazard pharmaceutical experiment – has dramatic consequences for our hero, and for those who know him.

Simultaneously dark, disturbing, amusing and thought-provoking, The Beast In Me explores the themes of free-will, shared history and personal guilt, and the repression of memory and desire.

A must-read for fans of Franz Kafka and Hermann Hesse, The Beast In Me is Joseph Hannay’s second novel.



Going Out With A Bang

by Christian Wiggins

Adam is a loner with friends he could count on one hand. He was always looked at as a weird kid. The day before Thanksgiving he decides to throw a mysterious party. A party that changes everyone who was invited life forever.



The Dreaming Land II: The Journey (The Zemnian Series Book 6)

by E.P. Clark

Some change the world. Some break it.

Valya has won permission to hunt down the slave traders defiling her land and stealing its children. Now begins the most difficult part of her mission: she and her companions must track down the perpetrators of this crime, and rescue their victims. But as Valya will discover, the roots of the evil go deep.
And saving Zemnian children from death or a life of degrading servitude is not Valya’s only concern. She still must win the heart and hand of the son of her worst enemy, and unite the steppe with the rest of the country at a time when the succession and the very life of the Tsarina hangs in the balance. And then there is the question of her daughter’s magical gifts–and, it may be, her own. Like her foremothers, Valya is about to discover that gifts of power are as much a curse as a blessing, and can be a danger not just to the wielder, but to everyone around her. Valya wants to save Zem’ and the children who depend on her, but she may not even be able to save herself.

Drawing on sources as diverse as romance and medieval Russian epics, The Dreaming Land II continues the story begun in The Dreaming Land I and will take the reader on an epic physical, emotional, and spiritual journey that will appeal to fans of The Mists of Avalon, the Kushiel series, and classical Russian literature.



Tolstoï : The Complete novel (Prometheus Classics)

by Lev Nikolayevich Tolstoy

This book contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure!

Contains:
Childhood
Boyhood
Youth
The Cossacks
War and Peace
Father Sergius
Anna Karenina
Ivan the Fool
Evil allures, but good endures
Where Love is, There God is Also
The Death of Ivan Ilych
The Imp and the Crust
An Old Acquaintance
The Young Tsar
Master and Man
Esarhaddon, King of Assyria
Work, Death, and Sickness
There are No Guilty People
Little Girls Wiser Than Men



Outside The Comfort Zone: Tales From Austerity Britain

by Alan Devey

A digital serf finds himself exploited by his employers at a â??cultural filtering’ website.
A celebrity publicist finds his past coming back to haunt him in a way he could never have imagined.
A taxi driver under extreme pressure experiences a nervous breakdown mid-fare.

Alan Devey’s first collection of short stories, Outside The Comfort Zone is a set of despatches from the heart of contemporary Britain. In the wake of the financial crash, this is a place of insecure work, desperate poverty, civil unrest, looming technological threat and an ongoing housing crisis.

Like Ken Loach’s ‘I, Daniel Blake’ or the world depicted by Sleaford Mods, these tales track the lost and dispossessed of Austerity Britain. We meet men and women who find themselves at risk in the most extreme of circumstances, from a suburban job centre to a garage of hapless child-men, from backstage with a rock star to a council flat annexed by criminals, from the serial killer who draws in the bored and listless to the uncertain life of immigrants and their children.

All of them are forced out of their comfort zones in a collection that encompasses life and death, dignity and failure, uphill struggles and sudden redemption. These are characters left behind by our unequal society or still trying to ride its wave before being undone. This is life in the 21st century as told by someone who is unafraid of delving into his country’s uglier side.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.