Free literary fiction Kindle books for 05 Dec 18

Falling Stars: The Last Sanctuary Book Two

by Kyla Stone

They believed they were safe. They were wrong.
After escaping the Grand Voyager, Amelia and the survivors find themselves thrust into a harsh, unrecognizable world. No shelter. No food. All they have is each other–a ragtag group of elites and misfits.

Dangerous enemies lurk on every side. And someone–or something–is hunting them. To stay alive, they’ll need answers. What is the Hydra virus? How can they stop it?

And who can they trust when they can’t even trust each other?

The second book in The Last Sanctuary series, Falling Stars is a near-future apocalyptic thriller for fans of Maze Runner, Legend, and Under a Never Sky.

Books in the completed Last Sanctuary series:
Rising Storm
Falling Stars
Burning Skies
Breaking World
Raging Light
No Safe Haven
(a stand-alone companion novel)

*Rated PG-13 for non-graphic violence and mild language.*

“A little science fiction, a little romance, and a whole lot of action!”-Amazon reviewer

“I was captivated!” -Holly Jennings, author of Arena and Gauntlet

“If you read one YA novel this year, make it this one.”-Shaun L. Griffiths, author of the Changing Times trilogy

“A great suspenseful read with compelling characters and a page-turning plot.” -Amazon reviewer

“Fully fleshed-out characters I fell in love with.”-Goodreads reviewer



Haven’s Fall: A Short Story

by Nicholas Gagnier

After the events of FOUNDING FATHERS, the town of Haven is invaded by a rogue militia hell-bent on seceding from the United States government.



The Stone – Issue Two (The Stone Magazine Book 2)

by D. H. Schleicher

Roll away the second issue of The Stone to uncover the followingâ?¦

Train of Thought – A hassled commuter from Chennai is in for a surprise on his daily commute in this tale from Prakash Jashnani.

Deadline – In this story from Vince McGovern, a struggling writer wrestles with his desires and searches for inspiration to meet an impending deadline.

The Trip – Amanda Perino delivers an elucidating look at one young woman’s night at an Amsterdam funfair.

Puddle Jumpers – On the brink of the 2008 economic collapse, an investment banker takes stock of his life in the latest by D. H. Schleicher.

Cover art provided by Eleanor Leonne Bennett.

The Stone was founded to bridge the gap between classic storytelling and new technology. Our goal is to provide great stories to the masses in a modern user-friendly format, through the Kindle app, at an affordable price. We seek contributors from across the globe, both established writers and independents.

Founder and Editor – D. H. Schleicher

For submissions guidelines visit http://theschleicherspin.com/thestone/



The Stone – Premier Issue (The Stone Magazine Book 1)

by D. H. Schleicher

The Stone was founded to bridge the gap between classic storytelling and new technology. Our goal is to provide great stories to the masses in a modern user-friendly format, through the Kindle app, at an affordable price. We seek contributors from across the globe, both established writers and independents. Founder and Editor – D. H. Schleicher



DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE: A Journey Through End Stage Dementia (Revised Edition)

by Veronika Zyss

This is a must read for anyone touched by dementia.

This first-person account of end-stage dementia will leave you speechless. Join Stephen and Lauren as they try to navigate their ever-changing landscape. Delve into a deteriorating mind where you too will experience guilt, denial, fear; anything but acceptance to this unrelenting thief, as you become absorbed in the road to nowhere, the one leading you down the rabbit hole.

Down the Rabbit Hole is an honest, relatable look at a disease that leaves loved ones alive but vacant on the things we once loved.



Nowheresville : Short Stories

by Sarah Watts

Fifteen-year-old Janie Keenan is missing and presumed dead. While the rest of the town hurries to forget her, a group of fifth-grade friends set out to find where she is.

Dinah and Wade live in a crumbling apartment complex next to the Dunkin’ Donuts in a rough area of town. When they hear a disembodied voice coming from the upstairs apartment, the two wonder if it could be their ticket to a better life.

Karin Hall lives alone, plagued by crippling anxiety and self-hatred. When she starts dating gangly, over-talkative Parker Lowell, she starts feeling less anxious — but Parker’s personality is about to drive her over the edge.

Blending humor, horror, realism, and fantasy, “Nowheresville” features a colorful array of characters who are all yearning for something different. Driven by frustration, faith, or fear, each character will make a decision that changes the course of his life forever.

SARAH WATTS is a short story writer and journalist in the Chicago suburbs. Her nonfiction work has appeared in The New York Times, the Atlantic, New York Magazine, Salon, and many others. This is her first work of fiction.



The Human Circle: A Sweet Fairytale Romance (Haunted Love Bonus Prequel) Novelette

by Nickie Cochran

Belinda’s life as a fairy princess is not always easy, especially when her parents, the king and queen of Incris, accept the request of a power-hungry and evil prince for her hand in marriage. Her only option is to escape through the human circle at the edge of the kingdom’s forest before the wedding. The human circle is said to be a gate to the human world, and many childhood tales had warned her about the savages lurking on the other side, but she has no choice.
 
Fairies do not exist – or at least that’s what Pete, an anthropologist, whose passion lies in debunking myths and mystical creatures, believed… until now. Intrigued, and against his better judgment, he agrees to help the terrified young woman that literally falls into his arms just outside the fairy ring he was investigating in the Irish country side. He really shouldn’t have, because now his life and his heart are in mortal danger…

This sweet, magical fairytale romance short story is a bonus prequel to the full-length novels of the Haunted Love series featuring lovable characters and quirky ghosts. If you like to read feel-good love stories to escape from your busy life, The Human Circle will be just what the doctor ordered. 
 
* All of Nickie’s books can be read as standalones, and rest assured, many of your favorite characters will make appearances in other books of the series. Isn’t that what friends are for?



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.