Free world literature Kindle books for 07 Jan 19

Charles Dickens: The Complete Novels

by Charles Dickens

This book, newly updated, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure!
The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you’ll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.

This book contains the complete novels of Charles Dickens in the chronological order of their original publication.

– The Pickwick Papers
– Oliver Twist
– Nicholas Nickleby
– The Old Curiosity Shop .
– Barnaby Rudge
– Martin Chuzzlewit
– Dombey and Son
– David Copperfield
– Bleak House
– Hard Times
– Little Dorrit
– A Tale of Two Cities
– Great Expectations
– Our Mutual Friend
– The Mystery of Edwin Drood

A Matter of Latitude

by Isobel Blackthorn

From the acclaimed author of The Drago Tree comes a riveting thriller about survival, revenge and long-hidden secrets.

When local Lanzarote anti-corruption activist, Celestino, is T-boned on a lonely stretch of road, he knows the collision was no accident.

Wounded and fearing for his life, he hides in an abandoned fishing village, waiting for a chance to make it home. Meanwhile his wife, English expat Paula, is distraught. Her pursuit of answers is deflected when her neighbor, troublesome retiree Shirley Mobad, co-opts Paula on her escapades around the Canary Islands.

Paula’s search for her husband quickly descends into mayhem, danger and intrigue. Before long, she realizes she’s being followed. She needs answers, and fast.

But where is Celestino, and will he ever make it back alive?

“A Matter of Latitude simmers with danger, betrayal and treachery, drawing the reader into the island’s history of shady dealings and uneasy relationships between natives, tourists and expats… Isobel Blackthorn has crafted an atmospheric and setting-rich novel with alluring lyrical style.” – Sandi Wallace, award-winning crime fiction author

David & Avshalom: Life and Death in the Forest of Angels

by Bernard Mann

This telling of the life and times of David the king goes well beyond the typical story line, into the exploration of little known story arcs — the adoption by David of the Hittites’ compound bow and large archer companies enabled Israel to throw off Philistine domination. His friendship with Hiram of Tyre and other rulers led to never-broken peace and successful maritime engagements with the Phoenicians. His willingness to help defend Canaanite Taanach signaled peace with Canaanites and his marriage with Maacah allowed peace with Geshur, other peoples of the north. Even more striking was his respect for women writers, including Judith, who wrote much of the books of Genesis and Exodus (See Bloom’s the Book of J), and Seraiah (my name for this author), who wrote the Book of Ruth. The roles of Bathsheba in Palace affairs and Maacah in her tragic sorrow over son Avshalom’s (Absalom’s) rebellion are illuminating. All in all, this saga is one of high drama and warm insights into personal and national life in ancient Israel.

Big Man Falls: Normal People Season 1

by SP Revell

Special two story bundle!

Big Man Falls – When you’re a big man in a little office, you can think, say and do whatever you want. But when you leave that safe, comfortable, air-conditioned space you have to confront the real world – and sometimes it’s a scary place!

Big Man Falls follows office bully Bruno Craven on his frightening Friday night trip across town, from the bright lights of the City to the darkened streets of the east.

Among The Eaters Of Meat – Are you hungry? Roger is and, when he receives a surprise invitation to the opening night of celebrity chef Matthew Sagen’s new restaurant, he is compelled to accept. The trouble is, he’d already promised to spend the evening at home with his son. What should he do?

Set against a background of aspiration and indulgence, Among The Eaters Of Meat is a test of familial duty versus a lusty desire for self-gratification.

The Silence We Eat

by Oyindamola Shoola

In this poetic-prose anthology, the 2017 Nigerian Writers Award winner; Oyindamola Shoola returns to project the silent stories of many women. The Silence We Eat merges stories of places where women have walked, and their bodies have survived. It is about the trajectory of silence and how it leads us home, sometimes, to find our voices. Oyindamola shows us that often, silence is deafening, detaching, choking, empty, and fading but then, it becomes finding, rediscovering healing, and wholeness.

Ð?аписки генеÑ?ала Ð?Ñ?молова, наÑ?алÑ?ника Ð?лавного Ñ?Ñ?аба 1-й Ð?ападной аÑ?мии, в Ð?Ñ?еÑ?есÑ?веннÑ?Ñ? войнÑ? 1812 года (Russian Edition)

by Алексей Ð?Ñ?молов

«Ð?аписки генеÑ?ала Ð?Ñ?молова, наÑ?алÑ?ника Ð?лавного Ñ?Ñ?аба 1-й Ð?ападной аÑ?мии, в Ð?Ñ?еÑ?есÑ?веннÑ?Ñ? войнÑ? 1812 года» весÑ?ма лÑ?бопÑ?Ñ?нÑ? как исÑ?оÑ?иÑ?еская леÑ?описÑ? Ñ?Ñ?сского военаÑ?алÑ?ника, непосÑ?едсÑ?венного Ñ?Ñ?асÑ?ника войнÑ?.

Ð?иÑ?ние лÑ?ди (Russian Edition)

by АнÑ?он Ð?авловиÑ? ЧеÑ?ов

Рассказ, впеÑ?вÑ?е опÑ?бликованнÑ?й в 1886 годÑ?.

Kiss Of Life

by Brian L. Porter

Every night, Alan Dexter has the same dream: his former colleague Christina is seducing him when suddenly, two of her perfectly white teeth turn into fangs and tear into his flesh.

Dexter is always the skeptical journalist, but his feeling that Christina must be in danger only grows when he discovers she disappeared over two months ago in the mysterious Carpathian Mountains.

What evil still lurks in the heart of Transylvania?

Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.