Free fantasy Kindle books for 09 Jan 19

Gateway (The Gateway Trilogy Book 1)

by Christina Garner

Everybody has their demons… Ember’s want her dead.

Ember has always known that she doesn’t belong in this world, but when she takes matters into her own hands, she winds up in a mental institution.

There she draws the attention of Taren, a mysterious boy with a dangerous secret.

When demons attack, they are forced to flee together, and Ember learns her secret might be the deadliest of all.

With a gateway to hell opening in Los Angeles, Ember must choose–will she save the world…or end it?



Throne of Shadows

by Emma Fenton

Magic or Myth?

Princess Honoria Ramadani is mere weeks away from marrying the man she loves, becoming a queen, and finally escaping the suffocating atmosphere of the Helish court. When an ominous prophecy threatens Ria’s entire future, she’s hesitant to put stock behind childish superstition. But with her parents’ sudden, inexplicable illness and subsequent deaths, she can no longer deny that there are greater forces at work.

The discovery of an antiquated law forces Ria to fight for both her life and the throne, pitting her against her vicious older sister. An ancient demon-summoning ritualâ??which promises that any desire can be granted, for a priceâ??may be the only thing that can save Ria from certain death. But witchcraft is a finicky matter, and she soon finds herself magically bound to an arrogant demon who might cause more problems than he solves.

There are worse terrors than demons lurking in the palace walls, however, and Ria will have to forge the unlikeliest of alliances if she wants to have any chance of surviving.



A Wizard’s Errand

by E.B. Treasure

Small choices can lead to big consequences. For Tryssa, daughter of the innkeeper in a sleepy backwater village, befriending a misfit wanderer means a glimpse of the wide world beyond her home, a family legacy unearthed … and getting caught up in unfinished business with a wizard. What starts as a simple errand and a bit of lighthearted adventure goes horribly awry when dark forces with unknown motives take a sinister interest, and only Tryssa and her companions can save the wizard’s shattered plans from disaster … if they can survive a perilous journey with enemies dogging their every step.



Emperor Pigs: Stone Faced

by Paul Moore

Following the kidnapping of Gordon, the team at Emperor Pigs must decide how to handle the ransom demands of the evil demon Holgar.



The Blood of Before (The Bones of the Earth)

by Scott Hale

(Book .1 in The Bones of the Earth series)

The Blood of Before
by
Scott Hale

is an anthology of six interconnected horror stories that take place before The Bones of the Earth series.

A mother, called across the Victorian countryside, to return to her family estate and the violent lineage she left behind.

The writings of a supernatural investigator sent to explore a village where people die day by day, and the dead refuse to stay buried.

A college graduate, recently fired and drowning in debt, who agrees to babysit her former professor’s childâ??unaware she might become the boy’s new favorite plaything.

The egotistical writer of a self-published, self-indulgent horror magazine who follows a lead to a house where a family was murdered, and the murderer who still resides there.

In the depths of a swamp, children are seen carrying body parts to an island covered in satin, and the woman who lies at its center, gorging herself on their fleshy tributes.

A family fractured by hate and distrust come to discover that the grandfather clock they’ve purchased is chiming out madness at the midnight hour, causing their love and hate to come together in one hideous, parasitic union.

From the darkest violence to the blackest humor, The Blood of Before is a glimpse into the horrors that led up to the Trauma and continue to affect the world of The Bones of the Earth.

If The Blood of Before doesn’t make your heart stop…
you’re already dead.



Evie and the Upside-Down World of Nevermore (A Young Adult Gothic Fairy Tale: A Dark Fantasy Novel)

by Birgitte MaÌ?rgen

“IF YOU’RE EVER TRAPPED IN THIS WORLD: DO NOT EAT OR DRINK AND NEVER, EVER TELL ANYONE YOUR NAME OR YOUR SOUL WILL BE TRAPPED FOREVER.”
* * *
A dark, twisted tale for fans of Southern Gothic Horror and Fantasy, Evie and the Upside-Down World of Nevermore takes you on a journey from the bayou of Louisiana to a place where fairy tales are shattered and nightmares begin.

* * *
After falling into a dark hole when she was running through the forest, Evie finds herself trapped in a strange new world that mirrors our own. Her only guide is a compass stick given to her by an angry gnome who lives in an ancient knobby tree. As Evie travels through the lands of this upside-down world she happens upon creatures that are twisted versions of fairytale folklore. A place where fairies bite, unicorns charge, mermaids are menacing, and nightmares are more than dreams. A world where the souls of those who could not follow the unspoken rules are trapped forever.

As a southern girl born on the wrong side of the tracks, Evie relies on the wisdom passed down by her grandpappy and the haunting memories of her mama to teach her perseverance of the soul. She learns that things are rarely what they seem as her world is turned upside down.

It is a story best told by Evie herself:

There was a full moon brimmin’ that night, and that meant strange things could happen. As I walked through the woods, I reckon I shoulda known by the way my hair stood up on end like Uncle Red’s toupee â??that I shoulda coulda stayed home. I call it the willies, but grandpappy calls it premonition. One thing I can tell ya as a girl from the wrong side of the tracks: If you’re fix’n to wander way over yonder â??it’s important to know the right direction.

Southern Gothic, Horror, Fantasy, YA, Coming of Age



Torn From Stone (The Phoenix Series Book 1)

by Sarah Rockwood

What if the most important part of you was locked away, encased in stone, and only you could set it free?

After a lacklustre birthday party, Phoenix finds a strange creature hiding under her sink. Doing what any sensible person would do, she pokes it. And when that little guy wakes up, he rocks her world.

You see, Phoenix isn’t human, the little guy under her sink just told her so. She is actually a Traveller, once a beautiful humanoid who moved through time on multi-coloured wings that filled the sky. So why is she here, sitting on the floor of her tiny apartment with a strange creature named Sid? Where are her wings? And why doesn’t she remember any of this?

Following Sid into time itself, Phoenix embarks on a wild adventure. If the Sirens don’t kill her, meeting a talking Yeti might. And ancient Egypt is amazing when it isn’t so ancient, although she could do without all the snake-men chasing her. But don’t worry, when the stuff really hits the fan, Phoenix isn’t afraid to swing her baseball bat at whatever is in her way. And through all this, the most terrifying man in her home world, a silver-skinned warrior named the Archer, is hunting her down.

They say you can’t get blood from a stone, but maybe you can get wings? Either way, Phoenix sure as hell is going to try.

Torn from Stone is the first novel in the urban fantasy, Phoenix Series.

If you like the Dresden Files, Anita Blake – before the erotica, and anything by Patricia Briggs, then pick up Torn from Stone today!



The Revealed (Connor Chronicles Book 2)

by Dormaine G

In the aftermath of betrayal, the San must defend Earth.

Connor’s loyalties are questioned, and her actions put to the test. Forced to make harsh decisions, the world around her begins to crumble. She must prepare for war.

Forced to live on the planet known for its unyielding cruelty, Willow must confront the results of her own actions. Fighting for survival, she must overcome her weaknesses and accept the inevitable.

Meanwhile, Ronin – their malevolent adversary – is determined to bring down the San. He loathes Connor, but can’t bring himself to harm her. Neither is willing to accept their destiny; yet compelled by their fate.

Will enemies become allies, or fight to the death?



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.