Free war Kindle books for 12 Jan 19

Tyranny: A Demon of Athens Novel

by Martin Sulev

“Athens has been weakened by decades of war with Sparta. Now, conflict between political factions threatens to tear the city apart from within. In a violent and crumbling society, Daimon, son of an Athenian general and a Thracian slave, finds himself hunted by enemies on all sides, including by the family of a young man history will come to remember as Plato. Yet under the guidance of the greatest military leader of his age, Daimon will find his destiny as a warrior and take his first steps in becoming the Demon of Athensâ?¦”

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow!



WITH FIRE & SWORD Trilogy: Historical Novels: With Fire and Sword, The Deluge & Pan Michael

by Henryk Sienkiewicz

These classics follow a dramatized versions of famous events in Polish history, weaving fact and fiction.
The first novel, titled With Fire and Sword, chronicles the mid-17th century Ukrainian Cossacks revolt in Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth known as the Khmelnytsky Uprising.
The second book, The Deluge, describes the Swedish invasion of Poland in the mid 17th century known as The Deluge, which followed the Khmelnytsky Uprising.
The final novel, Pan Michael, follows wars between Poland and the Ottoman Empire in the late 17th century.



The Greatest Historical Novels: Henryk Sienkiewicz Edition: Quo Vadis, With Fire and Sword, The Deluge, Pan Michael, On the Field of Glory

by Henryk Sienkiewicz

This carefully crafted ebook collection is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents:
Quo Vadis
With Fire and Sword
The Deluge
Pan Michael
On the Field of Glory



The Collected Works of Henryk Sienkiewicz (Illustrated Edition): Quo Vadis, In Desert and Wilderness, With Fire and Sword, The Deluge, Pan Michael, Children … Glory, Whirlpools, Without Dogma, In Vain

by Henryk Sienkiewicz

This meticulously edited Henryk Sienkiewicz collection presents the finest selected works of 1905 Nobel Prize laureate.
Contents:
Novels
Quo Vadis
In Desert and Wilderness
With Fire and Sword
The Deluge
Pan Michael
Children of the Soil
On the Field of Glory
Whirlpools
Without Dogma
In Vain
Short Story Collections
Lillian Morris and Other Stories
Hania and Other Stories
Sielanka, a Forest Picture, and Other Stories
Life and Death and Other Legends and Stories
So Runs the World



Quo Vadis: A Story of St. Peter in Rome in the Reign of Emperor Nero

by Henryk Sienkiewicz

Quo Vadis is a historical novel written by Henryk Sienkiewicz. “Quo vadis, Domine?” is Latin for “Where are you going, Lord?” and appears in Chapter 69 of the novel in a retelling of a story from the apocryphal Acts of Peter, in which Peter flees Rome but, on his way, meets Jesus and asks him why he is going to Rome. Jesus says, “If thou desertest my people, I am going to Rome to be crucified a second time”, which shames Peter into going back to Rome to accept martyrdom.



Kill the Boer: HISTORICAL NOVEL OF THE ANGLO BOER WAR

by Franz Conradie

“Seldom in the annals of human conflict, did so many, suffer so much, because of so few…” My rendering of Sir William Churchill’s famous words, some 40 years later, to be applicable to the Anglo Boer war…

The Few:
Joseph Chamberlain, Alfred Milner, Cecil Rhodes, and others such as Julius Wernher, Alfred Beit, Percy Fitzpatrick, Frederick Roberts and Herbert Kitchener.

The Many (â??tally’ of the â??few’):
* Some 24 000 British and Colonials who died in battle, were wounded or perished from disease.
* About 15 000 Boers who were killed in action, were wounded or died in prisoner of war camps.
* More than 26 000 Boer children, women and elderly people who died in tragic circumstances in concentration camps.
* More than 20 000 blacks and coloreds who died in combat or in concentration camps.

To the descendants of these people and the 50 000 burghers and 450 000 British and Colonial troops; who all fought to the best of their ability, I dedicate this book.



Got a new Kindle or know someone who has? Check out the ultimate guide to finding free books for your Kindle. Also available in the UK.